Green, Green

Life is about survival, and we are doing our best to stay alive. Now as the top predator of the food chain, we don't need to blend in in the environment to not get detected by the predator, we do need to work hard to provide for ourselves.

But in the other form of life, in the smaller world of insects or other smaller creatures where life depends on how good they avoid predators, the camouflage skill is so much needed. The easiest way is to have a matching color with the place they usually live in.

And this little green Katydid seems to do that really well in the photos that I have for today's post. You can see how the color of its body almost fits perfectly with the color of the plant's leaves it resting on.

separator2.png

I was even getting a little bit of a problem when I wanted to edit them because the color of the katydid as the object is almost the same as the leaves as the background, so whenever I wanted to adjust, everything just followed, making it more difficult to show the katydid.

separator2.png

But despite that, if you are looking at the Katydid closely, you can see how beautiful this creature is. look at the color of its eyes, I think the only part of its body that is not green. And also the pattern it has on the abdomen. Looking at the wings that have not been fully developed, I guess the one I have here is a juvenile Katydid. Because I also have the smaller one below.

separator2.png

separator2.png

And here is the younger one, that I found not far from the juvenile one that I shared above, which was jumping away when I tried to photograph more of it.

This little one is also so skittish, and I could only get two photos before I jumped away as well. and when it jumps it jumps quite far, thanks to the long back legs that is very useful for jumping.

separator2.png

separator2.png

Photo StyleMacro PhotographyAccesory50 mm Canon lens + Adapter + Extension Tube
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingExternal Flash
GearOlympus OMD Em5 Mark iiDiffuserCekrek Diffuser


I am a Balinese man, a father of a toddler son, working in the hospitality industry, who has recently found a passion for macro photography. I want to share the photos that I've taken here on Hive. I appreciate any comments or feedback you leave on my posts and kindly invite you to be part of my journey in this vast Hive Ocean. Thank you very much
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency