No Success Despite Efforts? A Monk's Wisdom

JKB | Namaste | Hola



Last month, I visited a spiritual city. I wanted a break from my every day life. I have constantly struggled between my falling personal and professional life. I tried to take 3-4 days detour but nothing sorted my issues. I decided to take a long break, enough to forget my worries and my daily schedule. I packed my bag and went on the journey with one question in my mind - "Why I am not being able to get out of my struggling phase?"

I completed a journey of 890 miles and reached my destination. I started changing my daily schedule to bring newness back into my daily life. I started walking and doing chores to get my physical wellness active. One day I decided to visit the shrine that saved me 2 years ago from a grave illness. My problem was not an illness but rather a mental block this time. I went to the shrine, took a holy bath, and sat there for some time. After completing my prayers, I started taking a round route around the shrine to view the recent architectural developments.

As I completed my round and got back to the entry point - I saw a monk. I knew the monk as this was the person who saved my life. I went close to him to get his blessings. The monk greeted me and as I was preparing to leave, I asked him the question that was running in the back of my mind - "Why I am unable to achieve anything, why do I see constant struggles in my life, when will it end?"

The monk stopped me and asked me to repeat the question but this time the monk wanted to listen practical problem and not a casual statement. I told the monk that I have been trying to get up in my professional career as it is in a constant struggle and affecting many of my relationships. The monk stood in silence, after some moments, the monk told me to visit the shrine again and meet him. After 3 days, I went again and greeted him, I asked the same question again as I was looking for the answer. The monk said to meet him again.

I was confused but as I wanted the answer I kept on visiting him and greeting him. I went to meet him for the third time and asked the same question. Still, the only reply I got was to visit the shrine again. As I had to meet him and visit the shrine again and again, I forgot the daily life that I used to live. I get back to my farm and do petty chores there and wait again to meet him. After several meetings, the reply was still unchanged. I decided to wrap up this trip as nothing much was left for me to do.

The next day I got ready to visit the shrine for the final time on this trip. I went to the monk and greeted him. I expressed that I was about to leave the city and get back to my home. The monk nodded his hand and got back to the work. I stopped him and asked about my question.

"I said that I am unable to progress in my life and career, I am feeling stuck and the constant struggle is leaving no joy in my life."

The monk said, "What's the problem that is bothering me more - work life or personal life?"

I replied, "Work life as it is the thing that is tensing me up, I tried to get promoted many times but every time for some reason I failed"

The monk said, "Have you done the hard work that it required?"

I replied, "I did it from the heart"

The monk said, "Then do it without heart this time"

I asked, "I meant, that from the heart one puts his everything on the line, and I did the same"

The monk replied, "Have you seen any saint meditating from his heart? If it is up to his/her heart they would have left the very next second. Your problem is you did the hard work you thought was enough and up to your character. But the thing which you are aspiring for requires more than your heart-work"

The monk continued, "Do as much it is required to do so, and not up to your belief, you will get what you want. You are more than your heart and mind."

With these words, I was both confused and amazed. The thing that has changed since then is I try to put all energy left in me, whether my heart tells me to stop or not. It's like that Forrest Gump, final run which he took around America. Not from heart, will, or mind, but by the demands of the situation.

Thank you

  • Banner Image made using Freepik Image Generator and Canva
  • Community Banner designed by artist berlissanoja / Community Banner designed by artist berlissanoja
  • Community logo designed by designer casilokodesign

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments