What is Ikigai? And How To Use It For Your Well-being? (ENG-SPA)

woman-8064226.png

Source

Ikigai is a term that comes from Japanese philosophy, and it means "a reason for being" or "a reason to wake up in the morning.." When you want to explore your Ikigai, you need to go through a journey of self-discovery. Your true purpose will be revealed through your daily routine, which is really important for personal growth.
For discovering your Ikigai, you have to have some sort of self-awareness and understand the people and the surrounding environment.

Ikigai has four main elements:
1- What you like to do as daily routines
2- What you are excellent at doing
3- What the worlds need right now
4- What jobs you like, which you can get paid

It always comes down to one thing: what you enjoy doing and are passionate about. When you discover what brings you joy and purpose, and you feel fulfilled and satisfied, you made it. You found your Ikigai. Although, finding your Ikigai is a process which can take up your whole life.

In my opinion, finding Ikigai is really difficult. And people might mistake their true Ikigai and go to the wrong direction. Well, your dissatisfaction with your life shows that you haven't found your Ikigai yet, and you must go on a self discovery journey.

Living with Ikigai figured out has benefits for your well-being. You will have a deeper connection with what you do as a job and so as your daily routine and this brings you joy, and you won't feel the time is passing. You won't wish that it would finish because you are doing what you love. There is no reason for you to not be satisfied.

One thing that I struggled with was that even though I thought I found my Ikigai, I was always in a rush to finish my tasks. I loved what I did, but it didn't bring me much money, so I had to stop and choose another direction. What I want to say is that you need to find a job that you love THAT PAYS you the amount that fully covers your expenses. In today's economy, it is really difficult to find such a job. Loving what you do is not enough. It has never been enough. I just didn't realize it before. Only doing it taught me how I should react.

I think sometimes patience is not beneficial for us in the long term. I mean, I was a lot more patient with my previous job. And, that led me to make less money than my peers, if I had said No to that low paying job, I would have found my current job sooner which pays a lot better than my previous job.

One of my other issues was consistency. I had consistency, but because the job didn't pay me what I deserved, I was consistently unsatisfied. But I was consistent because I wanted to have the money, and it is important to not say yes so easily to jobs. When you accept to do tasks related to a job, it's like you promise to be responsible, and you can't leave until you finish the task. And when you are not enjoying the tasks, you feel suffocated and therefore, you miss your Ikigai.

Another issue that I faced was I didn't pay attention to these concepts. And I thought that they are not essential. Well guess what? They are critical. They help us “THINK” about our situation. I see many people who go by their lives, and they don't think what they like or what they don't like. It is enough for them to just make the money they need.

Thank you for reading. I hope you find your Ikigai and not be confused about it like most people do.

The Spanish Version

woman-8064226.png

Fuente

Ikigai es un término que procede de la filosofía japonesa y significa "una razón de ser" o "una razón para levantarse por la mañana". Cuando quieres explorar tu Ikigai, necesitas atravesar un viaje de autodescubrimiento. Tu verdadero propósito se revelará a través de tu rutina diaria, que es realmente importante para el crecimiento personal.
Para descubrir tu Ikigai, tienes que tener algún tipo de autoconciencia y comprender a las personas y el entorno que te rodea.

El Ikigai tiene cuatro elementos principales:
1- Lo que te gusta hacer como rutina diaria
2- Lo que eres excelente haciendo
3- Lo que el mundo necesita en este momento
4- Qué trabajos te gustan y te pueden pagar

Siempre se reduce a una cosa: lo que te gusta hacer y te apasiona. Cuando descubres lo que te aporta alegría y propósito, y te sientes realizado y satisfecho, lo has conseguido. Has encontrado tu Ikigai. Aunque encontrar tu Ikigai es un proceso que puede llevarte toda la vida.

En mi opinión, encontrar el Ikigai es realmente difícil. Y la gente puede confundir su verdadero Ikigai e ir en la dirección equivocada. Pues bien, tu insatisfacción con tu vida demuestra que aún no has encontrado tu Ikigai, y debes emprender un viaje de autodescubrimiento.

Vivir con el Ikigai descubierto tiene beneficios para tu bienestar. Tendrás una conexión más profunda con lo que haces como trabajo y así como tu rutina diaria y esto te trae alegría, y no sentirás que el tiempo pasa. No desearás que se acabe porque estás haciendo lo que te gusta. No hay razón para que no estés satisfecho.

Una cosa con la que luché fue que, aunque pensaba que había encontrado mi Ikigai, siempre tenía prisa por terminar mis tareas. Me encantaba lo que hacía, pero no me daba mucho dinero, así que tuve que dejarlo y elegir otra dirección. Lo que quiero decir es que tienes que encontrar un trabajo que te guste Y QUE TE PAGUE una cantidad que cubra totalmente tus gastos. En la economía actual, es realmente difícil encontrar un trabajo así. Amar lo que haces no es suficiente. Nunca ha sido suficiente. Sólo que antes no me daba cuenta. Sólo haciéndolo aprendí cómo debía reaccionar.

Creo que a veces la paciencia no nos beneficia a largo plazo. Quiero decir, yo fui mucho más paciente con mi anterior trabajo. Y, eso me llevó a ganar menos dinero que mis compañeros, si hubiera dicho No a ese trabajo mal pagado, habría encontrado antes mi trabajo actual que paga mucho mejor que mi trabajo anterior.

Otro de mis problemas era la constancia. Era constante, pero como el trabajo no me pagaba lo que merecía, me sentía insatisfecho. Pero era constante porque quería tener el dinero, y es importante no decir que sí tan fácilmente a los trabajos. Cuando aceptas hacer tareas relacionadas con un trabajo, es como si prometieras ser responsable, y no puedes irte hasta que termines la tarea. Y cuando no disfrutas de las tareas, te sientes asfixiado y, por tanto, pierdes tu Ikigai.

Otro problema al que me enfrentaba era que no prestaba atención a estos conceptos. Y pensaba que no eran esenciales. Pues adivina qué. Son fundamentales. Nos ayudan a "PENSAR" sobre nuestra situación. Veo a muchas personas que van por la vida, y no piensan lo que les gusta o lo que no les gusta. Les basta con ganar el dinero que necesitan.

Gracias por leernos. Espero que encuentres tu Ikigai y no te confundas al respecto como la mayoría de la gente.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center