My experience wanting to make my loved ones proud and how this affected me (ENG-SPA)

family-2485714.jpg

Source

I used to want things differently. But, now I take life less difficult. Even if I face a problem, I won't lose my cool. I am very proud of this trait about myself. And everyone ask me what is the secret? How can you be so cool? You must have no emotions. You must not be a person who cares about others because you don't get too sad or too happy. The truth is, there was a period in my life when I was depressed and felt too sad, and I couldn't be a functional human being and do my chores and tasks. Fortunately, that part of my life is over now, and I am free of those negative emotions.

One of the feelings that clung on to me was wanting to make my parents proud of me by becoming a doctor, meaning a surgeon. So, I studied hard and had my exams passed with excellent grades. I was the top of my class. But, when it came to taking the entrance exam for becoming a doctor, I became so nervous that I couldn't answer the questions correctly.

At the exam session, I would read the questions, but soon I would forget about what it was saying, so I lost a lot of time trying to understand what the question was saying.

The problem was I couldn't focus. And focus is really needed in a job like being a surgeon. Focusing has never been my strong trait. So, I struggled and struggled until I gave up basically my dream of becoming a doctor. I didn't know how to fix it and my parents wanting me to succeed made things worse. I was under a lot of pressure back then.

So, in summary, I couldn't get into medical school. My dad was disappointed in me, but he didn't say it out loud because he is too kind to blame me. He knows that I am a hardworking individual. But I could feel him being disappointed.

I couldn't do anything about this, so I studied another year, and the same issue happened on the day of the entrance exam. This year, I did two exams, one for foreign languages and one for medical school. I was accepted in foreign languages. So, I decided to not waste my time further trying to achieve something I can not (medicine). I needed to accept my capacity for understanding complex concepts. And my inability to focus.

My parents always told me to try harder to get into medical school, but I thought I was wasting my time. But, guess what? Now, after all these years that have passed, I still think I could have done another exam to test myself once again. I don't know if it would be worth it or not. I have this feeling that I didn't finish something I was supposed to do. I feel I should continue my studies in that area too and be knowledgeable about the human body as well as the human mind.

I still don't know if this is my wish or my parent's wish. Is it me who wants this, or is it me wanting to make them proud? I don't know, and I think I should do a deep psychological analysis of my feelings to find this out. Me having still time, and still young, makes the choice very difficult.

You might say, it is easy. Just go for the one you like. Well, I think I like them both equally, and this is because I am a very inquisitive person. I always want to know about my surroundings and how I feel towards the things I see. I study my emotions carefully. But, deciding which route to go is really difficult. And I do want my parents to be proud of me. But, I learned that it is only yourself that you should compete. Finally, it is you who has to do the work and live the life you have chosen, so we must always choose a route we are completely comfortable.

Thanks for reading. See you in my next post.

The Spanish Version

family-2485714.jpg

Fuente

Antes quería las cosas de otra manera. Pero ahora me tomo la vida con menos dificultad. Aunque me enfrente a un problema, no pierdo la calma. Estoy muy orgulloso de esta característica mía. Y todo el mundo me pregunta cuál es el secreto. ¿Cómo puedes ser tan tranquilo? No debes tener emociones. No debes ser una persona que se preocupa por los demás porque no te pones ni muy triste ni muy contento. La verdad es que hubo un periodo de mi vida en el que estaba deprimido y me sentía demasiado triste, y no podía ser un ser humano funcional ni hacer mis tareas y quehaceres. Afortunadamente, esa parte de mi vida ya ha pasado y estoy libre de esas emociones negativas.

Uno de los sentimientos a los que me aferraba era querer que mis padres se sintieran orgullosos de mí convirtiéndome en médico, es decir, en cirujano. Así que estudié mucho y aprobé mis exámenes con excelentes notas. Era el primero de mi clase. Pero, cuando llegó el momento de hacer el examen de ingreso para ser médico, me puse tan nervioso que no podía responder correctamente a las preguntas.

En la sesión del examen, leía las preguntas, pero enseguida me olvidaba de lo que decía, así que perdía mucho tiempo intentando entender lo que decía la pregunta.

El problema era que no podía concentrarme. Y la concentración es muy necesaria en un trabajo como el de cirujano. La concentración nunca ha sido mi punto fuerte. Así que luché y luché hasta que renuncié básicamente a mi sueño de convertirme en médico. No sabía cómo solucionarlo y el hecho de que mis padres quisieran que tuviera éxito empeoró las cosas. Por aquel entonces estaba sometido a mucha presión.

Así que, en resumen, no pude entrar en la facultad de medicina. Mi padre estaba decepcionado conmigo, pero no lo dijo en voz alta porque es demasiado amable para culparme. Sabe que soy una persona muy trabajadora. Pero yo sentía su decepción.

No pude hacer nada al respecto, así que estudié otro año, y el mismo problema se repitió el día del examen de ingreso. Este año hice dos exámenes, uno de lenguas extranjeras y otro de medicina. Me aceptaron en lenguas extranjeras. Así que decidí no seguir perdiendo el tiempo intentando conseguir algo que no puedo (medicina). Tenía que aceptar mi capacidad para entender conceptos complejos. Y mi incapacidad para concentrarme.

Mis padres siempre me decían que me esforzara más por entrar en la facultad de medicina, pero yo pensaba que estaba perdiendo el tiempo. Pero, ¿adivinen qué? Ahora, después de todos estos años que han pasado, sigo pensando que podría haber hecho otro examen para ponerme a prueba una vez más. No sé si valdría la pena o no. Tengo la sensación de no haber terminado algo que debía hacer. Siento que debería continuar mis estudios en esa área también y tener conocimientos tanto del cuerpo humano como de la mente humana.

Aún no sé si es mi deseo o el de mis padres. ¿Soy yo quien lo desea o soy yo quien quiere que se sientan orgullosos? No lo sé, y creo que debería hacer un profundo análisis psicológico de mis sentimientos para averiguarlo. El hecho de que aún tenga tiempo y sea joven hace que la elección sea muy difícil.

Podría decirse que es fácil. Sólo tienes que elegir el que más te guste. Bueno, creo que me gustan los dos por igual, y esto se debe a que soy una persona muy curiosa. Siempre quiero saber lo que me rodea y cómo me siento ante las cosas que veo. Estudio mis emociones con detenimiento. Pero decidir qué camino tomar es realmente difícil. Y quiero que mis padres estén orgullosos de mí. Pero he aprendido que solo debes competir contra ti mismo. Al final, eres tú quien tiene que hacer el trabajo y vivir la vida que has elegido, así que siempre debemos elegir una ruta con la que nos sintamos completamente cómodos.

Gracias por leernos. Nos vemos en mi próximo post.

Traducción realizada con la versión gratuita del traductor DeepL.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center