TATTOO AND PIERCING IN MY CULTURE

img src

Happy World Piercing Day Everyone.

I am not huge fan of having a piercing or a tattoo but i see some beautiful tattoos that makes me want to change my mind at times.

Tattoos and body piercing have been in existence for a long time. It is most iconic and some have spiritual meaning and cultural importance, mostly among the Africans.

I remember when i was in a lecture hall, we were taught of a culture in Africa who do Mutilate the genitals of the female child. It do not stop there as they go ahead to pierce the gonad so as to close it to avoid entry of any opposite reproductive organ. This is removed when the woman is about to get married. I do not know how they pass through their monthly cycle but they do. This is the extent we Africans can go with cultures. With the impact of modernization, all these practice is gradually fading away. the only type of piercing that exist in my culture (that i know of) is ear piercing for females. this is for gender identification.

I do not know much about tattoos and piercing but one thing i know is that they are really cooooool. i love it but then, i more or less hate it at the same time. Personally, i see tattoos as a calm and beautiful thing to have. i actually plan on getting one on my wrist (i have seen people with this type of tattoo but i do not know its meaning). i also plan on getting an ear piercing but my profession prohibits it. The higher ups always preach about Nursing Ethics. haha.

One thing i know about tattoos is that they always have a meaning. Either they represent a gang, Yakuza or any other thing. I also know one thing or two about piercing. They have nose piercing, ear piercing, navel piercing, piercing of the vagina, tongue, lips, eye lids, and even the nipples.

img src

i do not see where a tattoo cant be applied. even the eye balls can be tattooed. i do not know the materials used for tattoo but then, i know that great endurance is required for the procedure.

I see all type of piercing as uncomfortable. i hate an external thing being applied or let dangling on my body. i do not feel comfortable with those. But i can do tattoo. i love tattoo.

I have not had a piercing before but i think that some of the ways to care for a piercing include - keeping the site clean. this to avoid infection to the pierced area.

This is my response to the tattoo world prompt.

i invite @adaezeinchrist @emreal and @taharastories to join the inleo prompt.

you can join it here

Thank you for reading.


canva design

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center