More than a week on this remodel


↑This was my bathroom when I started working on it, planning on what I wanted to do↑

↑You can't really tell here, but there are feet on that vanity, making it about 3 inches too tall for me, and creating a waste space underneath it

While cutting that and other things, the guy I hired accidentally cut through my foldable metal saw horses, took it home and repaired it for the next day

In moving the vanity, we discovered that what I thought should have been a drawer but could never open, was indeed a drawer, which is a large boon

The plan all along had been to prime then paint these simulated bead board panels before the actual inside work got done, but I only got as far as sanding then priming that wood. much to my chagrin, because I am now forced to paint in very cramped spaces.

My friend Tyler did the big stuff, cutting and nailing it up with an air gun, but didn't have it the next day when he came back, much to my chagrin

Back home, I grew up with a 'tri fold mirror' and I bought this almost 2 yrs ago, been in the box in my garage all this time.

I wanted it inset into the wall, but that would have been much more time and labor intensive, as it stands now I've spent nearly $600 on this (not counting the mirror)


I have gallons (exaggeration) of caulk still to apply, as well as "backer rod" to stuff in places so that it won't take that much caulk, and painting around a toilet is one of my least favorite things to do

I was trying to put up the corner molding, with hammer and wire brad nails. I bruised me fingers and bent more than one nail so I had to pound then flat, very unprofessional.
But I got it done so far

My guy said I should get a "Corian" (the material of the counter top) back splash, but they were rather expensive and I have no way of cutting such as that, so I began experimenting
I didn't like that the gray stone looked so much like the existing wall, so I went back today and got something more

Wanting to have this posted on Friday, but with the bathroom still not completed (I had to shower in the old bathroom this morning) I decided to give you this to show what is happening here at my house.
I have my trifold mirror

And the counter top is now low enough that I can bend over and wash my face without getting me belly wet.

My friend from the Air Force, who was the first person I ever met who was born the same day AND same year as me, had been here with His wife and daughter, from Sat through Wed.
It was great seeing him again, first time since 1979

So yesterday was my nephew-in-law's funeral service.

I didn't go, the whole week had just piled up on me, and I stayed in bed until after 1:30 pm yesterday.
Today I'm not sure what I will do, as there are still family in town to visit, and it is gray cold and rainy.
I may just go get some wine and then back to bed ha ha.


What I learned today was, don't try too hard to please everyone.

Bathroom Remodel

by
Jerry E Smith
©02/12/2023
All images are mine, taken with my
Samsung Cellphone.





cyktlq.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center