Grass Raccoon's Peek - A Holozing Creature Pen Art

thank you dear Holozing team for inspiring creative imaginations in our hearts as we contribute our pieces of art for this all-loved game. Two days ago I watched our puppy walk and tweak its tail and then gave me a stunning back peak. Just then, I remembered Holozing creatures and quickly picked up my diary to sketch how a Grass raccoon would look in that posture. It as really a hard one for me since I didn't take a picture of the puppy in that posture. I needed to do a lot of mind iteration before arriving at this piece.


source

Y'all will know by now that I am a student of pen art. I'm trying to get better at it, especially in the area of painting and rendering. This imagination of the Grass Raccoon character is the hardest attempt I've made so far. It took two days to finish it. Let us get in to see how the drawing and rendering went.

1. Griding

I first draw grids to help me scale the size and angles of my image to be drawn. It helps me keep the parts in proportion. The grids were made freehand since it's a sketch altogether.

2. Head Sketch and Body frame

To give a true identity to the art piece, I decided to start with the Raccoon's head based on the available template. I started with the eyes and mouth of the creature. As you can see, the target was for the head to fit into the top left quadrant of the grid.

Before finishing the details on the head, I proceeded to frame the body frame that will be viewed in full. This was where the main work was. This is my imaginative creation and it took hours to get it right.

3. Getting a full-body frame

After hours of trial, I successfully got the full frame of the entire body shape of the Raccoon in motion and with a back peek. I had to take a sip after finishing this part of the creature.

4. Erasing the Grids and bolding Outlines

The grids had finished their work by helping me to get a proportional shape of the creature. I erased the grid and boldened the outline of the creature.

5. Colour Rendering

I had three colours of pen for this rendering - Green, Red, and Blue. I started with the greed to give strokes in areas that required a deeper green shade. I substituted the red pen for the orange/peach parts of the Raccoon. As for the drk parts like the feet, I kmixed blue and red to give a shade of black colour.

Finished Work

Here is my finished art of the Grass Racoon giving a back peek while on motion.

Process Collage

Here is a collage of all the process steps from start to finish.

Thank you Holozing for creating this opportunity to engage this art.

I'll be glad to learn from your reviews. I hope soon, I will join the League of digital artists to give my art piece a more clean look.

It can only get better. Please send in your reviews.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center