Holozing Fan art: Normal-type Dragon!

Finally, my 4th Holomon dragon fanart is complete! For today's piece, I'm featuring the Grey Dragon, also known as the Normal Dragon type, alongside the adorable Healer of the Ocean.

Normal Dragon.jpg

In my previous works, I often depict Holomons in "miniature" form. However, for this fanart, I flipped the dynamic. This time, the Holomon is portrayed as the more mature figure, while the healer takes on the "baby" or "mini" version. I find it fascinating to showcase a Holomon and Healer with this age difference, as it gives the impression that the dragon is her guardian. That's why I designed the dragon's wings to appear protective, as if he's shielding her, while the healer holds him with complete trust, as though she's placing her life in his hands. This is the story I aimed to convey in this fanart—a nice little twist to their backstory.

I like the features of the Normal Dragon type because it probably has the most classic, dragon-like appearance of all the types. Its grey color gives it a neutral, standard look. I don’t plan to change its overall features; instead, I prefer to slightly modify it to appear more mature and larger.

My process for creating fanart starts with a rough sketch, focusing on solidifying the base outline and the proportions of the characters.

01.jpg

Once I'm satisfied with the sketch, I move on to finalizing the outline.

02.jpg

It's especially challenging to manually draw long lines, but I believe it gives the artwork a more human-like touch, so I stuck with it.

After ensuring there are no open lines, I begin adding color to each area until I achieve the desired look.

03.jpg

04.jpg

05.jpg

From there, I start shading the darker areas and highlighting the brighter ones to add depth and create the illusion of lighting in the artwork.

06.jpg

Here's the final result!

Normal Dragon.jpg


curamax.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments