Day 3 of #Zingtober 2024: "Miu in Boots!"

Today's #Zingtober prompt is "Boots"!

I have to admit that this is my favorite one so far, lol. The reason for that is that I instantly came up with an idea as soon as I received the prompt. "Puss in Boots" immediately came to mind, so I created something that still connects with Holozing.

Of course, "puss" had to be "Miu," without a doubt. And here’s the result of my artwork!

mnb-05 final.jpeg

Is anyone familiar with Puss in Boots or Shrek? There’s a scene where Puss makes his eyes look beady to evoke sympathy, and then he robs or attacks his victim. I’m not even sure anymore, lol. It’s way past my bedtime, and my memory isn’t clear on this detail, so I won’t elaborate further because I might make a mistake.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I wanted to emulate that scene for my #Zingtober entry.

Miu is definitely a good choice, especially since he can fit inside the boot. In a way, the result looks funny; however, some may find my artwork creepy due to the strong contrast. I hope the cuteness of Miu's eyes will be enough to make my artwork seem less creepy, lol.

For today’s drawing process, I combined elements from my Day 1 entry with those from my Day 2 entry. Basically, I used solid hatching for the shadows and dark areas, while crosshatching was the technique I employed to reduce the contrast in the shading.

But before that, I created a simple sketch using the Procreate pencil brush. I think it works quite well for me.

mnb-01.jpeg

And then below is the progression of my shading.

WIP 1WIP 2WIP 3
mnb-02.jpegmnb-03.jpegmnb-04.jpeg

Thank you for checking out my #Zingtober entry! I had a blast bringing Miu to life in this whimsical take on "Puss in Boots." I hope you enjoyed the process as much as I did, and I can’t wait to share more creations with you!


InkTober Prompt List

image.png


curamax.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center