Painted a tote bag

Hello everyone,
For some days, I was so busy with my studies. So I am posting a little bit lately. Though I was so busy, one of my friends requested to paint her varsity bag.

She told me to paint a tote bag. Tote bags are usually made with canvas fabric. So I just loved to draw in this bag. Today I'm going to tell you how I've drawn in this bag.
At first, I've done the layout of what I want to draw. My friend told me I could draw whatever I wanted. So I decided that I would draw cosmos flower on the tote bag.

So I've drawn some cosmos flowers with their tiny, thin leaves. I used 2B and 6B pencils to draw flowers. I secured the edges with masking tape so that if the colour spilled off, Masking tape will protect the bag.

Then I started adding colors. I used crimson red, black, white, and lemon yellow for flowers, and yellow and sap green for leaves. I used Fevicryl acrylic color. This colour is very good for fabric painting. And sustainable, too.

I mixed black, white, and red colours in the ratio of 1:2:4 and made a dark red colour. I used that dark red colour as the first layer of he flower. I used a No. 6 synthetic acrylic brush for the first layer.
Then I mixed more white with a dark red colour and made a beautiful pink color.

After that, I started giving light and shade to patels. I used three shades of pink and some white to add light and shade. I used the No. 2, No. 0, and No.00 brushes to paint the details of the petals.
Then I painted the seed of the flower. Cosmos flowers have a yellow seed in the middle. So I mixed lemon yellow with a little bit of red colour to make yellow warmer. The combination of yellow and pink was giving the flower more compliments. I used a No. 0 brush for painting seed.

Then I started painting steam and leaves the next day. I painted the stem with a sap green colour, and for he leaves, I mixed a little bit of yellow color. As those leaves were so thin, I couldn’t do so many details on the leaves. But I did a little detail in Sepal. I used no. 0 and no. 1 brushes to draw leaves, stems, and sepals.

That's it; I completed the painting. Those Cosmos flowers are looking so good and colourful in that plain white bag.

After completing the color, I dried the bag in the sun. It helped the colour become more sustainable.
My friend was so happy when I showed her the final result. She was so excited to use this bag. I was also happy to see her excitement.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now