I decorate my notebook inspired by the aesthetics of the 90s // Decoro mi cuaderno inspirándome en la estética de los años 90

English version

One of the things I've always liked to do when I'm about to start classes is to decorate the cover of my notebooks according to the subjects I have to take. This month I started attending college (I decided to study graphic design), I start the first semester so there are some subjects that are practically filler and it makes me a little lazy to have to take them, but others, such as Graphic Design I and Design Theory make me very excited to start studying, so I have a lot of inspiration to decorate my notebooks.

For now we are on Easter vacations, so I have the whole week to dedicate to do these things, the truth is that it relaxes me and motivates me regarding the future jobs and tasks that I will be assigned (I hope I won't retract what I'm saying in a few months, hahaha)... Without more to add, this was the cover I was encouraged to draw today.

Process:

Keeping in mind the dimension of the notebook, I cut out a sheet of cardstock about the same size that I would then glue on the first page of the notebook, I still didn't know what materials I would use to color my drawing so it was best to opt for a more resistant paper.


After thinking of some ideas for this drawing, I decided to do an illustration with a 90s motif. I didn't want to make such an elaborate drawing, I wanted something that had to do with the design branch so I drew a computer and a mouse, and I also added a vase because I like flowers a lot and because they helped to compensate the empty space on that side of the drawing.


When it was time to color, I decided to do it with my colored pencils. I started by establishing a range of colors in pastel tones that matched and contrasted with each other.


Finally, I took a black fine tip marker and outlined all the contours in the drawing, I also added some shadows to give dimension to some figures. When I was done with that step I proceeded to take a glue stick and paste the drawing on the main page of the notebook.


Final result:

photo_2022-04-12_17-52-27.jpg

And that's how I finished my drawing. What I liked the most is that I stepped out of my comfort zone and tried drawing something out of my semi-realistic drawing style. Illustrations with this style from the 90s have very striking features, such as use of bright colors, some abstract elements that added dynamism and movement to the design, all influenced by pop culture, it is very entertaining and nice to see illustrations or designs with this style.

Well, I hope you enjoyed today's post and if you are in school time, maybe you will be inspired to decorate your notebooks or some work with this aesthetic.


Sin título-4-03.png


Versión en Español

Una de las cosas que siempre me ha gustado hacer cuando estoy por empezar clases es decorar la portada de mis cuadernos según las materias que me tocan cursar. Este mes empecé la universidad de manera presencial (decidí estudiar diseño gráfico), empiezo el primer semestre así que hay algunas materias que son prácticamente de relleno y me da un poco de flojera tener que cursar, pero otras, como Diseño gráfico I y Teoría del Diseño me emocionan mucho por empezar a estudiar, de modo que tengo mucha inspiración por decorar mis cuadernos.

Por ahora estamos en vacaciones de Semana Santa, así que tengo toda la semana para dedicarme a hacer estas cosas, la verdad es que me relaja y me motiva con respecto a los futuros trabajos y tareas que me asignarán (espero no retractarme de lo que estoy diciendo en unos meses, jajaja)... Sin más que agregar, esta fue la portada que me animé a dibujar hoy.

Proceso:

Teniendo en cuenta la dimensión del cuaderno, recorté una hoja de cartulina más o menos del mismo tamaño que luego pegaría en la primera página del cuaderno, aún no sabía qué materiales usaría para colorear mi dibujo así que lo mejor era optar por un papel más resistente.


Después de pensar en algunas ideas para este dibujo, decidí hacer una ilustración con motivo de los 90s. No quería hacer un dibujo tan elaborado, quería algo que tuviera que ver con la rama del diseño así que dibujé una computadora y un mouse, y también añadí un florero porque me agradan mucho las flores y porque ayudaban a compensar el espacio vacío que había de ese lado del dibujo.


Llegada la hora de colorear, decidí hacerlo con mis lápices de colores. Empecé estableciendo una gama de colores en tonos pasteles que combinaran y contrastaran entre ellos.


Por último, tomé un marcador punta fina en color negro y delineé todos los contornos en el dibujo, también agregué algunas sombras para dar dimensión a algunas figuras. Cuando terminé con ese paso procedí a tomar una pega en barra y pegar el dibujo sobre la página principal del cuaderno.


Resultado final:

photo_2022-04-12_17-52-27.jpg

Y así fue como terminé mi dibujo. Lo que más me gustó es que salí de mi zona de confort y probé dibujar algo fuera de mi estilo de dibujo semirrealista. Las ilustraciones con este estilo de los 90s tienen características muy llamativas, como uso de colores brillantes, algunos elementos abstractos que añadían dinamismo y movimiento al diseño, todo influenciado por la cultura pop, resulta muy entretenido y bonito ver ilustraciones o diseños con este estilo.

Y bien, espero que hayan disfrutado el post de hoy y si están en época de clases, quizá se inspiren para decorar sus cuadernos o algún trabajo con esta estética.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center