(HIVE-DIY) Cushion for my Grandfather

Hey all my DIY people I hope you have had a pleasant week so far down here in Cape town it has been blistering hot. So for today's project my grandfather who is partially using a wheelchair to get around his house just so he won't have a accidental fall. The wheelchair is quite a nice one but it doesn't have the most comfortable seat so I decided I should make him a nice cushion and that is what I'm going to show you today.

The first thing or need is the materials which consist of scissors, the material of your choice, some sewing pins, a sewing machine if you have one or a needle and thread works fine, a ruler and a fabric marker.

Step 1
Measure out and draw your cushion on the material.

Step 2
Place your sewing pins along the lines you have drawn to connect the top and bottom fabric into the shape of your cushion as so it will not move while you are sewing it.

Step 3
This is something I personally do just for peace of mind I will take a scrap piece of the material I am using and put it through the sewing machine to test whether the tension is correct.
(If you're not using a sewing machine you can skip this step)

Step 4
Sew along your lines as neat as possible And as close and tight as possible in order not to let any of your stuffing push through. Do not forget to leave a gap for where you can place your stuffing. Once the sewing is done trim the extra fabric and turn the cushion inside out.

Step 5
Start stuffing your cushion with your material of choice in my case I decided to use foam bits it is a little bit messy but it does give quite a comfortable feel when compacted properly.

Step 6
Use some sewing pins to seal the opening from where you put your stuffing if this question is for someone else this will allow them to sit and feel the cushion first and ask for more stuffing or less if this is for yourself then you can also do this to sit on and feel if it is enough for you.

Step 7
If the cushion is to your liking you can now start closing it up for this I would use a needle and thread instead of the machine because to be honest I have no idea how I would do it well the cushion is full of stuffing.

And there you go this is the finished product and I'm happy to say my grandfather loves it and greatly appreciate.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now