Rubbish is beautiful or serigraphy part II

Rubbish is beautiful...

...was the realization of my last serigraphy experience.

This time I wanted to stick with it.

I want to stick with it in general. I want to allow myself to follow what truly interests me during my work, without too much overwhelming distraction.

Which will be rubbish, leftovers, rejected objects for the moment. For the moment? The truth is, that I am working with those subjects for at least the last few years.

The difference is that for the past few years I was working a lot with restrictions. Self-inflicted and imposed ones. At times I was completely happy with the situations and at other ones I was wishing for less restrictions. A proper atelier, with space and no moving-all-the-time, proper machines that are meant for what I want to do. No “spending ages to find a solution, that would have taken me halve the time if I had the right tools”. That’s what I was wishing for in some moments.
Now I am in a situation where I do have more access to tools. More time. More possibilities.

And I realize that I miss some of the restrictions. They make it simpler. Easier to get fully absorbed by one thing, instead of wanting to try everything.

I realize that I am into upcycling not because I can’t afford the fabric, but because the way of working truly resonates with me.

That just as a little detour about why I am back at working with rubbish:)

What better combination with textiles, than making a “rubbish patter” and print it onto some fabric, with the intention to sew a two-piece out of it.

(That was my initial enthusiasm)

The screen…

…picking some paper from the rubbish

…crushing them

…form a stamp

...dip it in paint

…apply it to the screen

...trying the same with cardboard

...rubbish stamps

...because why not some writing

...pouBELLE to stick with the theme (means bin in french)

…some chemicals and paint later

…the screen, ready to print

...rubbish goes back to its place

...and now printing

…best part ever!!

…is definitely the magic of the first print, always!

…discovering your design for the first time after you worked on it for hours

…a lot of enthousiasm to fill this huge piece of fabric with prints

…self-consciously picking different shades of brown

…rust brown, brighter brown

…gold of course, how could I have missed this one

…eventually it didn’t look as I had expected

…actually, looked like rubbish…. lol in my eyes

…I dropped it

…in search for a better resumption of a day’s worth of wasted work, I printed on silk

…also didn’t like it

I think I should have calmed down a bit more and not print the screen over each other so many times. Maybe having this design placed next to each other would have been worth a try.

Nevertheless, I guess it was still nice to just go for a random idea, that looked really good in my head. Not so good on fabric.

I think I am going to just print over the fabric. Rescue it. Give serigraphy one more try.

…before I go back to upcycle some rubbish and rejected clothes.

Thank you to stop by another time! Appreciate you all:)

All photos are mine, taken by me during the printing process.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center