Halloween - Preparations and DIY for the weekend

For 5+ years Halloween wasn't something I thought of celebrating. I was stuck in the old Norwegian tradition, Julebukk, where we also dress up, but the difference is that we go door to door in December and we are singing xmas carols and get candy. But thats it. Even tho it haven't been much celebrated in 10-15 years. It all disappeared after Halloween arrived in Norway.

But I can truuuuuly say that I really love Halloween now. The tradition have grown on me, fast. There is so much to do before the day, and I love that we can have an amazing costume party as well.

I love it so much that I bought and made a lot of decorations the first year we planned having a party:

Im ready to unpack and show it to you. A lot of it have I made myself actually!


Me and @pusen have carving pumpkins 4 years on a row. And we hosted Halloween parties two times - this weekend will be the third. I really love planning that too. I have made myself the official host so I have made a Kahoot and found prizes to the winner for the Kahoot and the best costumes! There is also a worst costume, just because everyone should go all in on their costumes.

The prices are ready!


Halloween is a great way to be creative:

I started it off with painting some small plastic pumpkins white. I wanted to have a little bit more of the Mexican Halloween tradition: Day of the Dead. And I tried to make some Sugar Scull/pumpkins.

The Sims 4 have actually a little bit of the Day of the Dead in the game. I haven't started with exploring it, because I didn't know much about it. But I hope it will come day where I can explore it more.

AB316665-EB11-46B4-9192-05963A8A05F3.jpeg

I'm not an artist, and I thought they looked OK in the end. But it was at least fun! I have a lot more of these I can try to paint on. It was really hard because the pumpkins was so small and I couldn't remove the paint either. But I had some paint brushes that is usually used on nails and that helped me a lot.

0BB71F65-5157-4869-9A53-8290F95E96C4.jpeg

Carved pumpkins.

We carved pumpkins on Thursday, and I will also make pumpkin pie on Friday. I made pumpkin pie the first time we carved pumpkins, but I didn't thought it was so hard, but it took so much time. I was pretty tired when I was done. But it was soooo good!

It's always hard to figure out what to make when we are carving pumpkins. I did the easy way this time, but upside down. I liked mine until I saw @pusen's pumpkin. His pumpkin was so much creative than mine. I wanted to make one where the pumpkin puked, but it would be so much mess. I also saw those who makes a nachotable or tacotable where the guacamole comes out of the mouth. That is maybe the best one so far!

Carving time

The results!

Thank you so much for reading!

Do you celebrate or do some fun Halloween stuff?

There will come a new post about other creative ways to decorate your home with things you may have around. And of course: How the making of a pumpkin pie went. With me luck!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now