I was commissioned to paint a Led Zeppelin themed motorcycle fuel tank

I was told that the bike would be Led Zeppelin themed, that it would be named Physical Graffiti, and that I had free license to paint it in whatever style I wanted since the tank was the first piece to be painted and the frame wasn’t even finished yet with welding. I worked on this every once in a while over the course of a few months, never really straining myself to complete it.

Once the frame and tail piece are fabricated, I’ll be painting them as well. The tail piece will be done in a similar style but with different songs. The frame will be a fractured patchwork of multicolored tiles…or not - I’m honestly not sure yet.

img_2201.jpg

From this side you can see the following songs:

  • Ramble On
  • Stairway to Heaven
  • Communication Breakdown
  • The Lemon Song
  • Dyer Maker (graffiti style lyrical content only)
  • Moby Dick (barely/only partially shown, far left)

img_2202.jpg

From this side it’s pretty much the same list actually, except additional:

  • Black Dog
  • Immigrant Song (also not really pictured, this is a Viking ship sailing on the right side)

img_2203.jpg

Although neither are clearly visible in this shot, from the front you can see:

  • Moby Dick
  • Immigrant Song

This was a lot of fun to come up with and paint! I used sharpie brand oil paint markers to do all the color work. The owner is taking it to be professionally clear-coated.

img_1752.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency