Fire Room Part 4

What’s up bunker lovers! When we last met, I had gotten the tunnel dug to partial depth and back to the face of the shed.

This time I tried undermining to get under the shed, but it was some of the most pain-in-the-ass digging I’ve encountered to date. I couldn’t really swing my pickaxe or make any good progress, and I’m impatient and wanted to feel like I was moving along, so I made a lame choice and built a roof over the unfinished tunnel instead of digging it to completion.

84d16d88_aa8b_4b79_acc0_8d6eb7cd65fc.jpeg

Moving towards a fully covered excavation, I built the roof over the tunnel in two sections and covered them with leftover roofing shingles. They were in the shed when I moved here…I spent no money on this project. I made the roof in two pieces so I could lift and prop one side.

28983c1a_62e2_4442_81e1_a8f847594bf9.jpeg

I had to somehow clear out the tunnel far enough inward to gain floor access to the shed. So I decided to just chop out the floor and see what I could do.

Cutting out a rectangle slightly smaller than a door mat, I did come across one floor joist that would need to be cut. I dug out below the joist on both sides and wedged in vertical 2x4s to support, hammering them into the vertical position. Once I felt good about them I used wood screws salvaged from palettes/crates to fix them into position with a second piece of 2x4, and then I cut the joist at both ends of the opening.

3f1268ac_2f8b_473f_83ee_f39f84d05d5c.jpeg

Then I put my brother-in-law’s tiller to work. This was not terrible, but it wasn’t much faster. The pickaxe and now smaller rock hammer chip and cut through big rocks as I clean walls and work my way down, but the tiller just cleans them off pretty much and bounces around like mad - plus the dust it kicks up in a closed tunnel is insane.

It took most of the day to get this far, and now it’s too dark in the tunnel to get any work done. Next I would need to run some electricity and lights.

As always, if you made it this far, thank you for checking it out!

You can find the links to all the Fire Room posts, here.

For an indexed view of (most) of my works, don’t forget to check out the Albus Index! Quickly search through my content or browse for what available by topic!

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

img_2455.jpg

Use my Coinbase referral link to get started with Coinbase! I’ll get $10 in Bitcoin but, more importantly, you will get $10 in Bitcoin too!

Here is a post I did recently about using Coinbase with HiveWallet to get Hive in the US. If you’re wanting to buy Hive and are having difficulties, this may be helpful for you!

img_1752.jpg

- - : GO TO THE ALBUS INDEX : - -

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency