Comic Book Adds This Week

PXL_20210523_172337900.jpg

I went a bit long on the new Behemoth series, You Promised Me Darkness, and the books finally began to arrive this past week. The premise of the story is as such: every 75 years, as Halley's Comet passes the Earth, people are supernaturally granted special auras that give them special abilities. A dark entity, known as the "Anti-Everything", feeds on people with these auras. Two brothers are on the run from this evil entity, and the book focuses on their mythology-building journey.

Sounds a bit like Jung or Campbell; I'm hoping this one gets turned into a series or film, so I'm investing early and plan to read them all too as the books come out.

With that said, here the books I received this week. The first one, above, is cover A of issue 1. I'm going to read this one today during naptime.

PXL_20210523_172346013.jpg

The second book is the "nude" variant of issue one. I didn't black out the nude part like all the eBay listings, so...yep, cutting edge content here.

I also snagged a set of the A, B, and C covers of issue 2.

PXL_20210523_172513856.jpg


PXL_20210523_172528046.jpg


PXL_20210523_172539344.jpg

I love Behemoth books; for one, they are low print, so scarcity is in play. Yet more important than that for me is the quality. I love supporting independent publishers and their writers.

I also snagged one more book of issue 1. I picked up the John Gallagher metal book.

PXL_20210523_172416322.jpg

Limited to a 50 issue print run, I got good old lucky number 13. That is either a good thing or bad thing depending on what this series does. Either, this one will g to Hattie in the future.

As you can see, I have some high hopes for this series. Once I get through issues 1 and 2 today, I might see what else is out there for variants and scarcity. As much fun as it is going long with Ethereum or Bitcoin, it's fun to mix it up and make a bet on a good, quality series with quality storytelling. Storytelling...it's what makes us human, after all.

Thanks for checking these out, and let me know what you think of the series if you've had a chance to read them yet.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now