Scarlet (Crocothemis erythraea)

IMG_4504.JPG

It was the most beautiful I encountered along the bank of a river I visited recently. It flies and lands on the dry stalks of Calotropis gigantea or the crown flower. Of course, it monitors and occasionally flies in ambush of prey, perhaps mosquitoes or other flying insects. The fourth image from above shows a scene after it ambushes its prey in midair (seems something is upside down or doesn't look normal there).

IMG_4500.JPG

IMG_4502.JPG

IMG_4503.JPG

Among the other plants and insects there, it must have looked very striking with its fiery red color. I immediately aimed my shot, but I didn't want it to panic and fly away. I approached it slowly, and of course, admiring it. It was the male Scarlet (Crocothemis erythraea), or Scarlet Darter.

IMG_4506.JPG

IMG_4509.JPG

Look at his abdomen, it looks wide. It has transparent wings, the veins on the wing edges appear red and orange from the base of the wing to the tip, with a stigma that I think is orange.

IMG_4511.JPG

It is a dragonfly that inhabits open water habitats (flowing or stagnant) as well as the place where I found it in Aceh, Sumatra (Indonesia).

(Reading source : Scarlet dragonfly)

IMG_4512.JPG

IMG_4513.JPG

IMG_4447.JPG

IMG_4434.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency