Getting Started On The Garden Fence

IMG_7698.JPG

25 m of plastic-coated steel mesh. Height 1.5 m. 24 pole anchors and 20 poles 165 cm tall. 15 cm go into the anchor.

I will need to buy more of the materials. But I don't know how much, yet. Part of the fence will be taller.

IMG_7691.JPG

The problem with those holes is that they are 11 mm wide. The pole anchor's inner measurements are 51x51 mm while the poles are 48x48 mm. The wood is relatively soft, which means I have to be careful with the screws. I've found it works best to attach the pole to the anchor before driving it into the ground. I chipped off wedges with an axe from the pieces that were left over when the poles were cut to a size and used the wedges to make sure the pole fits more tightly.

I bought a 5 kg sledge hammer today. It's heavy enough for to to be able to drive the pole and the anchor (completely) into the ground without lifting it too high above the head of the pole.

IMG_7701.JPG

A fence will only be built around the backyard.

I'm probably going to have to build a gate from scratch because I have not seen anything suitably sized on the market. I'll put the gate between the house and the garage on the other side.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now