WIP|| First Step In Making A Simple Crochet Dress.

Hello Needlework Lovers✨

It's been a while since I did a large crochet project; like I prefer to call it. The last time I made a large crochet project –which was a complete two piece skirt and top with gloves– was in August last year. Coincidentally, I made up my mind to make yet another large project for an upcoming fashion show which I wish to attend.

The plan is to make a simple yet outstanding crochet dress for the fashion show. A dress that would make a statement but so far, I've only been able to make the top part of the dress.

IMG_20240909_195530_177~2.jpg

Allow me to share with you the current project I'm working on and my progress so far. The exciting part of this project is the fact that I have less than two weeks to complete it and I still haven't fully figured out what I want to do with the body of the dress.



Materials Used

  • 4.5mm crochet hook
  • Yarns
  • Tape measure
  • Sketching notepad
  • Stitch markers
  • Darning needle


Procedure

First off, I started by making bra cups for the dress. I do not know why but I haven't tried making bra cups since I began my crocheting journey,hence, this was my first try and they came out looking pretty okay.

IMG_20240905_150840_780~2.jpg
For the cups, I started by making a chain of eighteen, with two extra chains as the turning chains. I worked over the remaining sixteen chains. Once I reached the last chain, I made three double crochet stitches, one chain and extra three double crochet stitches into the same chain. Afterwards, I continued making double crochet stitches into every chain on the flip side.

IMG_20240905_170929_449~2.jpg

With that, I was done with the first row. For the second row, I pretty much repeated the first row but I made sure to pay close attention to the apex of the bra cup. A little shit in the apex could lead to the sideward bending of the bra cup.

IMG_20240905_155550_117~2.jpg

After seven rows, I got my desired length. With that, I cut off my yarn and repeated the extract pattern in order to make the second bra cup.

IMG_20240909_134932_564~2.jpg
Once the two cups were ready, it was time to couple the both bra cups. For this part, I made a chain of thirty, slip stitched into the end of one of the cups. With double crochet stitches, I began working through the bottom of the first cup and once I got to the end, I placed the next bra cup beside and continued. At the end of the second bra cup, I made another chain of thirty stitches to balance everything up.

IMG_20240905_170956_477~2.jpg
The thirty stitches are equivalent to the distance from the end of the bra cup to my backbone. This isn't the exact measurement, however, I decided to do it this way because the dress is supposed to be a halter dress–with an open back.

After making the first row of the bra cups with double crochet stitches, I switched to half double crochet stitches. I will be using half double crochet stitches for the rest of the dress and I hope it comes out pretty in the end.
IMG_20240909_195503_149~2.jpg

So, this is my progress so far. I cannot tell exactly how fast I will be but I do know that it's going to be a crochet marathon for me from now on and hopefully, I complete the dress on time.

IMG_20240909_195633_095~2.jpg

Also, if you have any ideas on how you think the body of this dress should be, please do well to share them😊.


All images used belong to me and were taken with my mobile device except stated otherwise.


Love🤍


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now