Help My Cousin Make Her First Blazer with an Africa Print Fabric

HELLO HIVE

Greetings to everyone, I hope these meet you well and that you've had a great day this beautiful Friday, today I'll love to take you through how my cousin and I made her first blazer jacket, which was meant for her, and also a means of practicing, so she can increase her skills in English dress making and not just the contemporary African styles we are use to.

IMG_20220328_111133.jpg

Being that I've some knowledge about sewing, because I once learn tailoring, she approach me with the hope that I know how to sew a blazer, but unfortunately I never tried it during my sewing days, so after making research and enquiry online, she came back to me and say she as seen someone who's willing to share her a video on how to sew it for some amount, that's around $25(10,000 thousand naira in our local currency), I paid for video, because she's still a student who as no source of income.

IMG_20220328_111249.jpg

So after we made payment, the lady send us the video on WhatsApp, and then we set out to work by first purchasing the necessary materials needed for the sewing of the blazer.

hive dividers-16.png

MATERIALS USED

  • Ankara fabric
  • Linning
  • Gum stay
  • Thread
  • 1 Button

So after purchasing the materials, we began working on the blazer.

MAKING PROCESS

  • Since this is the first time we both trying this, we dim it fit to first cut a paper pattern of each part so that their won't be mistake of cutting material short than the actual size needed, after getting that, the pattern where placed on the fabrics, and was use to cut the same shape out, after which the cut fabric was placed on the linning to cut it out as well.
FrontsSleeve

IMG-20220317-WA0002.jpg

  • After this we sew the lining together with the parts they are meant for on the fabric.

IMG-20220317-WA0007.jpeg

  • Since I'm the one who's use to Sewing this type of pocket on trousers, I sew the pocket of both parts of the front, using a black fabric as a combination I felt will enhance the beauty of the blazer.

IMG-20220317-WA0005.jpeg

  • We also sew the linning of the back with the fabric, then sew both the back and front of the blazer together.

IMG-20220317-WA0009.jpeg

  • We then sew the sleeve to the body of the fabric, after which the collar was also sew to it.

  • Here is the blazer when we got through with it, I wanted to sew trouser for her since I felt it'll go well with the blazer, but she's not the type who love trousers, so she sew a skirt by herself.

IMG-20220319-WA0004.jpeg

IMG-20220319-WA0002.jpeg

  • And here she's all smile as she tried the blazer on and as well post for pictures while I snap.

IMG_20220328_110636.jpg

IMG_20220328_110800.jpg

IMG_20220328_111611.jpg

With this new accomplishment, she as promise to wear the blazer to church next Sunday, which the hope of attracting customers who will want one of such.

Help her as also open my list passion of sewing cloth, and hopefully one of this days I'll share a video or pictorial process of how I sew, so you'll know I'm also into cloth making and not just a shoemaker.

Thanks so much for checking out my blog post, have a pleasant night rest.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center