Day 3 - Halloween Challenge - Pumpkin // Calabaza

We continue with @irenenavarroart's challenge, I'm already on day 3, and I've had a stressful episode.

1.jpg

It's a bit of a tiring challenge, even though I chose to make them in 2D and knit a day in advance. I got a call from the company I work for to do an urgent inspection, so I had to drop everything and go out like a roadrunner to solve the situation.

When I got back I had the kitchen and daily chores waiting for me, then my yoga class, by the end of the day I was exhausted and at that moment I started knitting, but the yarn I chose is too thin and my eyesight doesn't help me, so I ended up with pain in my neck. I don't think it's my best work. I didn't like the details of the mouth and eyes, but that's what I was able to achieve! Not all the time you have the space and time to achieve the effect you want.

2.jpg

Here is the link so you know what Halloween is all about, so go ahead and participate.

Pumpkins can never be missing on Halloween, so that's the little job I bring you today!

Why a pumpkin?
Personally I always have pumpkins in my apartment, specifically in my fridge. I love its flavor, in puree, in cream, in smoothie, in cakes, in cheesecakes, in quesillos, it's just delicious!

3.jpg

So I wondered how is it possible that such a tasty and nutritious food could end up on Halloween night with its interior emptied out, with eyes, mouth and a candle inside.

I got to work and researched on the internet, here I tell you what I found out. It has its origin in an Irish legend. One gloomy night the devil went in search of a farmer named Jack, by the way that name reminds me of the movie "The strange world of Jack".

4.jpg

Jack was a stingy and lying man, for obvious reasons he didn't want to go with the devil, so using his wiles, he tricked the devil and locked him up. To regain his freedom, the Devil promised Jack that he would never look for him.

After a few years Jack died, went to heaven where he was rejected for being stingy and a liar, then went to hell and the Devil condemned him to wander through purgatory, for having deceived him. Jack then asked for a light to light his way and the devil gave him a fathom that would never go out. Jack took the fathom and put it inside a turnip, here I understand a turnip as it must be a typical Irish vegetable.

When Irish immigrants came to the United States, they brought their traditions with them, among them the story of "Jack the Lamplighter". The turnip was not a typical food of the region, but guess what was typical and plentiful: Pumpkins!!!! The rest is history.

5.jpg

If you made it this far thank you so much for reading me, I really appreciate it!

Creative work is my own //
All photos are my own taken with my Tecno Spark cell phone and edited with Canva.Com //
I used the free version of Deepl.com as a translator.

Source: Telecinco

2.jpg



AHORA EN ESPAÑOL

Seguimos con el reto de @irenenavarroart, ya voy por el día 3, y he tenido un episodio de estrés.

1.jpg

Es un reto un tanto agotador, a pesar de haber elegido hacerlos en 2D y tejer con un día de anticipación. Me llamaron de la empresa para la que trabajo, para hacer una inspección urgente!, así que tuve que soltar todo y salir como un correcaminos para solventar la situación.

Al regresar me esperaba la cocina y los deberes diarios, luego mi clase de yoga, al final del día estaba rendida y en ese momento comencé a tejer, pero el hilo que elegí es demasiado delgado y mi vista no me ayuda, así que terminé con dolor en el cuello. No creo que sea mi mejor trabajo. No me gustaron los detalles de la boca y ojos, pero eso es lo que pude lograr! No todo el tiempo se tiene el espacio y tiempo para lograr el efecto que se desea.

2.jpg

Aquí te dejó el enlace para que sepas de qué se trata Halloween anímate a participar.

Las calabazas nunca pueden faltar en Halloween!, así que eso es el pequeño trabajo que les traigo hoy!

Por qué una calabaza?
Personalmente siempre tengo calabazas en mi apartamento, específicamente en mi nevera. Amo su sabor, en puré, en crema, en batido, en tortas, en quesillos, es simplemente deliciosa!

3.jpg

Así que me pregunté cómo es posible que un alimento tan sabroso y nutritivo termine en la noche de Halloween con su interior vaciado, con ojos, boca y una vela en su interior.

Me puse manos a la obra e investigué en internet, aquí les cuento lo que descubrí. Tiene su origen en una leyenda Irlandesa. Una noche lúgubre el diablo fue en busca de un granjero llamado Jack, por cierto ese nombre me recuerda a la película “El extraño mundo de Jack”.

4.jpg

Jack era un hombre tacaño y mentiroso, por obvias razones no quería irse con el diablo, así que valiéndose de sus artimañas, engañó al diablo y lo encerró. Para recuperar su libertad el Diablo le prometió a Jack que nunca lo buscaría.

Pasados unos años Jack falleció, subió al cielo donde fue rechazado por tacaño y mentiroso, entonces fue al infierno y el Diablo lo condenó a vagar por el purgatorio, por haberlo engañado. Jack pidió entonces una luz para poder alumbrar su camino y el diablo le entregó una braza que jamás se apagaría. Jack tomó la braza y la metió dentro de un nabo, aquí entiendo que un nabo pues debe ser una verdura típica de Irlanda.

Cuando los inmigrantes irlandeses llegaron a Estados Unidos, llevaron sus tradiciones, entre ellas la historia de “Jack el del Farol”. El nabo no era un alimento típico de la región, pero adivinen que si era típico y abundante: Las Calabazas!!! Lo demás es historia.

5.jpg

Si llegaste hasta aquí muchas gracias por leerme, realmente lo aprecio!

El trabajo creativo es propio //
Todas las fotos son propias tomadas con mi celular Tecno Spark y editadas con Canva.Com //
Utilicé la versión gratuita de Deepl.com como traductor.

Fuente: Telecinco

2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center