Simple & Beautiful: Crafting with Nettle Cordage and Crochet Rose for an Earthy Autumn Vibe

I can't say enough how beautiful it feels harvesting the nettle stalk to make a useful and beautiful craft out of it.

Though making nettle cordage is an empowering experience, making something out of the cordage is exciting.

I have been keen on collecting stalks to make cordage and other crafts.
But today I am going to share a simple way of using them.

As the nettle cordage is beautiful as it is, I just try to keep it simple and show its beauty. A few times, people ask me where I got my cordage from, and they are surprised by my answer.

I also love the green color it retains. One reason why I opted not to ret them is to keep them green.

Retting makes them softer, but in my experience, they naturally get softer the more you use and handle them.

Retting involves soaking them in water for a long time to ferment and loosen the pectin. You can also boil them for an hour with bicarbonate of soda.

If I need it softened, I scrunch it with baking soda, squeeze lemon to brighten the color, and moisturize it with coconut oil.

Dry it away from sunlight to keep it green; the sunlight fades it.

I made about 4 meters of cordage. I first let it dry a little, but not too dry; it is easier to handle.

Equivalent to 2 tall nettle plants.

So, before making my craft, I tidy my cordage.

Then, I made a knot that looked like a button. Simply make a loop, then wind the nettle around a few times, insert the end into the loop, and tighten.

I made a knot on the other side to make a loop.

I decided to add some autumn colors, a wool crochet flower in burnt orange.

I chose roses because they are classic and timeless flowers, and I love the similar colour to the roses in my garden.

For the Crochet Rose:

Chain 45 and SC on all of them.

Then, to make the loops: chain 3, skip one chain, and SC (repeat across the row).

Turn your work.

In each loop, make 1 SC, 1 HDC, 3 DC, 1 HDC, 1 SC to create the petal.

Continue this across all the loops. Cut the yarn.

Restart at the front of your work. Slip stitch all through the back loop. Finish off; leave a long tail and thread through a sewing needle.

Begin rolling it up into a rose shape.

As you roll, sew through the bottom of the rose to secure the layers in place.

I secured it on the nettle cordage.

Done! A nettle necklace with rose.

I love the balance between the ruggedness of the nettle cordage and the softness of the rose, giving it that earthy, autumnal vibe.

I could not wait to try it on.

Pulling the cord down raises the rose to the desired position or style.

It feels rewarding to transform something from nature into something useful; there's a sense of mindfulness and accomplishment and, most of all, a sense of connection with nature.

Have a wonderful needle working monday everyone.

Mariah ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿงก๐Ÿ’š

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center