Micro Crochet Granny Square Jewelry Set for a Lovely Granny

I felt happier knowing that I had made someone happy for the first time with my self-taught microcrochet skills. I visited a lovely elderly friend in our village and It was nice to see how much she had improved since I helped look after her the last few weeks after her hip replacement. When she saw my crochet earrings, she asked where I bought them as she wanted to buy a pair. I told her I made them and offered to make a pair for her. She couldn't believe it.

Although microcrochet is harder and requires proper time allocation, I was happy to do it because crafting for someone, especially knowing they will love it, is more satisfying.

She likes green and brown, luckily I had those colors available, and I added cream to brighten them up.

I used a .60 mm hook and Gutermann's sewing thread.

Bright light, small threads, smallest hook, steady hands, tight stitching, breaks, and patience, are the key ingredients in microcrochet.

Keeping hold of ends and crocheting around them.

Securing the end.

Crocheting tightly gives structure and eliminates the need for stiffening afterward.


Assembling them was exciting!

I finished them late last night and stopped by her house this morning to excitedly give her the set.

The necklace, with the green pearl as weight on an adjustable lock. I made the chain long, in case she struggles to unlock it, she can just put it over her head and adjust the length she wants, the weight of the pearl will keep it in place.

She was delighted!

A beautiful day, everyone! full of creativity and joy.

Mariah 💗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now