Her Name is Kate, and She Loves Violets

I visited my parents in the Philippines three weeks ago and met this lady who helps them day-to-day. As you grow older, whether you like it or not, you will become dependent on someone in some way.


source

It was such a pleasure to have met this lady and to have become acquainted with our family through the seminary where my brother, a priest, does his service. She is a beautiful person inside and out, with a big heart for everyone. She serves anyone involved in the church, including priests, seminarians, and their families.

source
She always makes us delicious purple yam in coconut for a snack, which was so nice. All she does is go around and help with the work they struggle to do. With no hesitation, she won't accept payment. I tried a few times to give her cash, but she returned it straight to my pocket. She chats your stress away; she has so many stories and finds joy in helping and caring for others.

And she loves pegs!

She uses pegs for everything - to close packets, to hang and dry clothes, and even to keep her hair away!

She said, "You'll never get any hair clip as good as this!" I was curious and tried it; it really does the job better than any clips I've had. It is very light and doesn't pull your hair down. She goes out with it without a care, more for comfort than looks.

She loves anything violet!
To thank her for her hard work and support, I treated her a violet slippers, a violet jacket, a violet water bottle, violet[[ Cadbury Chocolate, and a violet £20, thinking that she would find it hard to return as they are violets.

She owns this island, but she never brags about it. She finished school as a psychologist but prefers to help those in need her way.

The night before I left, she opened up about her story. It struck me when she said she never saw her father after he last left; he went abroad and never came back. My linen suitcase brought the memory back, as it was the same as her Dad's.

I was tired and struggling to pack my luggage, and she helped me pack and put everything in one very neatly, preventing me from having extra luggage. She is the guru in cooking, organizing, washing clothes, and everything. She does it all with pride. When she's in your house, she will make sure you are cared for and fed. She spoiled us. In return, we treat her as part of the family.

I thought about this lady. She touched our hearts with her kindness, so I thought of making something for her.

I bought a pack of pegs, the stuff she could not do without.

I bought violet wool.

I thought of fashioning a violet peg to make it a bit more pleasing.

Here it goes...

I made a circle with eight chains.

Then eight sets of three double crochets, with two chains in between them.

And then, in the eight spaces, I alternated two sets of six double crochets and two sets of eight double crochets, sliding a stitch after each set in the middle of the three-set double crochets to create a slope.

I folded it to create a butterfly.

Chained ten and wrapped it around to secure it with a slide stitch.

I tied a piece of thread to create an anthenae.

I attached it to the violet peg.

Do you think she will like this?

Her name is Kate, and she loves violet.

Kate's story encourages us to find happiness in kindness, appreciate life's simple pleasures, and embrace a compassionate and generous approach to others.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

Mariah 😊

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center