From Poppy Fields to Crochet Poppies: Nature's Beauty in Yarn

I passed by a poppy field and was mesmerized by the attractive, vibrant color. I stared at the delicate, light, and flowy petals blown gently by the wind and moved gracefully, giving them a fluid, flowing appearance like blood.

The sun was gleaming bright, such a beautiful day.

Red poppies (Papaver rhoeas) became widely associated with World War I because they were the first plants to bloom in war-torn fields. The sight of poppies blooming in the fields of Flanders inspired Canadian Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae to write the famous poem
In Flanders Fields This poem highlighted the poppies growing among the graves of soldiers and helped establish the red poppy as a symbol of remembrance.

Soaking in natural beauty and tranquility inspires me and urges me to create something that will always remind me of its beauty.

Home and I got what I needed—red, black, and green yarn.
And 3.5 mm hook

I made my own pattern after following a few online as it did not turn out how I wanted it; it is more like I am not good at following instructions.

First, I made the center circle using the black yarn.

Chain 1, then 6 single crochet.

Tied both ends to secure.

For the Red petals.

Start with a magic ring.

Chain 4,

Then, 6 quadruple crochets into the ring.

chain 4, and slip stitch into the ring. Repeat 3x

Tighten the magic ring.

Secure by tying the ends together.

I made 2 sets of petals and a center circle for each flower.

I stacked them.

And stitched them together.

Then I got a wire.

I inserted it at the back and bent back the end.

Twisted the wire to secure.

I wrapped it with the green yarn, starting distal to the end, wrapping it up to the back of the flower, and then wrapping it all the way down the stem.

You can cut the other end if it is already tucked enough and secured.

then wrap all the way down.

Bend the tip of the wire and wrap it to hide.

Wrap to hide the end of the wire.

Secure the end of the yarn with glue.

I like how it looks more like the wild poppy I picked; they have a flimsy stem and no leaves.

I made a couple more and have admired them for a while.

I would love to make more as a donation for Remembrance Day.

Poppy represents the resilience of the human spirit and the hope for a peaceful future.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!

Mariah 💗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center