A to Z Quilt - Plans & Beginnings - A is for the Alamanizer Block

There are so many quilt block patterns that I want to try I figured the best way to satisfy this urge would be a sampler.

The idea for an A to Z of quilt blocks made into a quilt was born. One block for each letter of the alphabet.

Figuring out the best way to lay out this quilt has been a challenge, 26 doesn't divide nicely and I want to highlight the letters that are meaningful to me, so I'll do a combination of large blocks, small blocks stacked in a single column and two rectangles to even out the numbers. Plan particulars:
Quilt size : 40 wide
Larger block size : 8 inch
Small block size : 4 inch
Spacing size : 3-3.5 inch

I've started toying with different ideas for the block patterns and will try to mix modern and traditional, straight lines and curved patterns, and the letter I is definitely going to be improv. Picking the patterns is going to be half the fun. I've bookmarked a few already.

I purchased some fabric scraps, a lot look like pieces of excess binding but that's great for lots of small blocks with different colours, plus fabric and scraps I already have I'm just going to see how I go. For the backing, I was gifted some beige spotty flannel/flannelette and I think I should have enough batting from my first quilt project.

Scraps.jpg

In purchasing fabric for this I've started toying with the idea of limiting new fabric purchases and trying to go secondhand and scraps. Saving waste is a key value for us so continually buying new fabric for personal quilt projects doesn't align very well with that value. So two fabric trips to the charity shop later I have more fabric than I probably need in lots of colours.
Fabric.jpg

My first block, from the 501 rotary cut blocks book, is A for the Alamanizer, four squares in a square. I toyed with the economy square version but wasn't sure about getting the right sizing. So stuck with the book version.

First.jpg

Times Four.jpg

Ironed.jpg

Finished.jpg

It isn't perfect, but it is my first proper pieced block, my first triangles and even my first squares. And I realise that the smaller the piece the more accuracy is important. I may remake this block at the end of the alphabet, it will be a great revision on how my skills improve through the process.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now