Guess the WIP: The Reveal

Still a WIP, but still a reveal nonethless

What's up peeps? How's life been treating you? The first week of GCQ is up here in our place and so far, we got our first positive case in our barangay. We had 1 before but they already came back negative after treatment and quarantine, so for a little over 2 months, our barangay was zero case. I guess right now, we'll have to put some more extra limits to my husband's errands. We can never be too careful.

My first week of June was a bit more challenging than the usual. Years ago, June was sort of a mark that summer ends here in the Philippines. This is when the rains start to water down the dried lands. But it looks like the sun isn't gonna hide anytime.

Anyways, I have taken it as a challenge to myself to finish my works in progress in a week's time. I feel bad when I see my WIPs sitting in the crochet parking lot for a long time. Which is one of the reasons why I made the Guess the WIP contest. Aside from it's fun having you guys take a guess at what's brewing in my crochet cave.

For two weeks, I was able to complete my WIPs. But for this week, I guess this was a bit arduous a task for me. Enjoyable, but still quite challenging. I wanted to make sure that this ends up a masterpiece. And beautiful works of art always take time. I want my client to feel that I put effort, time and my heart into completing this project.

To answer the question, what is the WIP for this week: It's an area rug. My client will be using it as a rug for her mannequin.

Expectation

This is the photo that @monkeypattycake gave me. I tried to look online for pricing and pattern, but unfortunately, there are no free patterns for this one. So I had to make my own pattern according to what I see in the photo. This is actually the second time I was given a photo to work with, and try to figure out how to create the project. And for both instances, I learned and improved. This is why I love this hobby. I learn, I earn, I meet new people.

Reality

So far, this project is at about 70% complete. I still need to crochet some 5 or 6 inches more of edges. I haven't done something this big so far and I did not realize that as I move to towards the edges, the stitches gets more and more counts each row. That's why they say it eats up a lot of yarns. That's why they say it's gonna take a lot more time. LOL.

And it sure did take a lot more time than I expected, or hoped and planned for. But nonetheless, I still think I'm making a lot of progress here. After I finish the 20 inch diameter rug, I only have to make a couple of pompoms. That would be the finishing touch to this area rug. And then it's gonna be shipped to my beautiful client. weeeeeee!

Still it's an incomplete project but a contest is a contest. LOL! And so, for the first time, we finally have winners. Before anything else, thank you so much to all that joined the contest.

@marblely | @juanvegetarian | @lhen18 | @fiberfrau | @godlovermel25 | @dashand | @mhejoanna

All the participants will share the HBD rewards of the contest announcement post.

Congratulations to:

@godlovermel25, @fiberfrau, and @juanvegetarian

Each of you will get 1 Hive each.

Don't worry, I have prepared another Guess the WIP contest for tomorrow. You know how they say that you are definitely a crochet addict when you take a break from your current project by making another one? Yeah, that's me. I take refuge in crocheting. When I'm stressed out, I crochet. When I'm worried, I crochet. That's why we will have another week of Guess the WIP contest. Please stay tuned for the contest announcement tomorrow!

¨ðº°˜¨ ¨˜°ºð¨

Please like my Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter
Follow me on Instagram as well.
Don't forget to Subscribe on my Youtube Channel too: The Leftie Crocheter

Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency