Three More Bag Repairs and Crocheting a Mirror Hanger

Shock! Surprise! I actually did more needlework this week! 😲 And part of it was even tackling the repair pile again!! Somebody check that we haven't shifted dimensions or something.

So the first repair is my insulated bag, which is great for when you are buying cold groceries in the hot summer, so they don't get warm or melt on your way home. One of the handles was just shredded, so first I pinned this replacement strap in place, and stiched it all over, lol.

Next, another bag that I've had for twenty years or so, that had a hole in it that looked like the type of hole you get in the knee of your jeans, lol. Patch time!

Yuan helped me with this one. It's is snoopurrvisory job to make sure I do it right! :)

Then it was actually the next day that I decided to tackle the third bag repair. I have this bag, which is like, duck canvas? Waxed canvas? It's canvassy on the outside but it has a waterproof coating on the inside. Over the years, the black bottom coating has worn off, and left many little black specs all over my groceries. The bottom was looking so threadbare without it, I thought it would tear a hole through. So I decided to use the material from this other bag that was really torn up, to reinforce the bottom of the waxed canvas bag:

the inside of the waxed canvas bag/the torn up bag I used for material

I turned it inside out to sew, and grabbed black thread because it was black material, but I should have grabbed tan thread because I was stitching it above where the threadbare black was on the original bag, so my messy stitches in black are visible on the tan outside of the bag. Oh, well!

So there were my three bag repairs, and I thought that would be all that I managed this week as far as needlework, but then yesterday I was inspired!

IMG_20230615_135804.jpg

Word on the internet is that if you put mirrors on the backside of your houseplants, you can reflect sunlight onto the other side, and get a bushier/less lopsided plant. Since advice is also not to turn plants (because they don't get enough sunlight the entire time they spend turning themselves around), I thought I would try this. I was considering buying another plant light as well, but I may as well use what I have that is free and doesn't need electricity before I do that! :)

I have this old Cabbage Patch Kids hand mirror from when I was a kid (yes, in the long ago of the 80s), so I decided to crochet a holder for it so I could hang it from the ceiling and reflect light onto the other side of my Boston fern.

I tested where the light reflection pointed yesterday when I hung it up, so hopefully it helps my fern get a bit more light. I really like my new apartment, but the main thing that isn't so great is that there isn't much light like I used to have, with two extra windows, in the corner of the building, one side being south facing, in the Old Apartment. So anything I can do to amplify lighting is good. I do like that at least the bedroom windows are in a corner facing the balcony like this, so they can get light from two angles.

So that was my needlework for the week! I did the things! LOL

I hope you all are having a good week and getting your projects done too. Thanks for reading! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center