My First Attempt At Crocheting A Yipyip

Hello friends! So I'm not much of a crocheter, I'm really a knitter, but I decided to give it a try crocheting a yipyip for a friend who wanted one to make as a surprise for her. I don't really understand crochet patterns, so I was winging it, lol.

Yipyips are the little alien muppets from Sesame Street:

So I started with the body, where the pattern I was looking at started with a circle, so that's what I tried to do, and then move up. I think the muppets look more like a triangle looking at the photos, so perhaps I could try knitting triangles?

He looks kinda like a jalapeño or a pickle. 😅 But I kept going, and added the fringe and made eyes:

And then I took some jewelry wire and beads to make his antennae:

For my first attempt, I'm not mad, lol. I think he's cute, even if he doesn't exactly look like a yipyip. Maybe I will try triangles and bigger eyes next time.

I am learning crochet, even if I didn't understand the pattern at all, lol.

Thanks for reading and have a good day! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now