WHAT DID I CROCHET?🧶#20 | Crochet Mesh Crop Top

Image designed by me with my pictures and Canva.

Hi, needleworkers! I made a mesh top for the first time, so I came to tell you guys about it.

Next to the feeling you get buying new yarn in pretty colours is having a stash at home enough to make a full piece.

I had 3 balls of dark red acrylic yarn (well, acrylic is actually the only yarn I’ve used), and I bought it because I wanted to make a shrug back then. Anyways, I’m planning on going out this weekend and I wanted to wear a crochet piece that would go well with the rest of my outfit and in a colour that really fits me, so I decided to use my red yarn finally.

Dark red is one of my favourite colours to wear and amongst the colours of yarn that I have enough to make a piece, red was the one that fit the rest of my outfit and my skin tone as well. Well, I had navy blue, but I didn’t want to use it because my bag was navy blue as well, and I didn’t want them to match like that.

The top was going to be cropped and have short sleeves, but the plan was to make the sleeves with double crochet.

I began as soon as possible. I did a chain long enough to go round my chest then joined them together because I was going to be working in the round. I crocheted the mesh stitches by chaining 4 at the beginning of the row and doing a double crochet in the 2nd chain from the beginning (2nd chain before the 4 chains). After that first double crochet, I’d chain 1, skip 1 stitch, then double crochet in the next. I’d continue that way till I reach the end of the row. Then I repeated the process till I reached the underarm row.

In three days, I’d reached the underarms row where I was going to start working on the front and back separately.


I measured half of the width of the top and then began to crochet from the start of one half to the end of the half. When I reach the end, I’d chain, turn my work, and start crocheting the other way till I reached the neckline.


I made a round neckline for the front and back, then proceeded to join the shoulders. After that, it was time to start the sleeves.

The sleeves had 7 rows of double crochets. The last thing I did was to single crochet round the neckline. Well, I didn’t think it would be the last thing. I planned to add a little pocket at the top left side, but changed my mind at the last minute because I thought it’d look better with the rest of my outfit without.

For the record, I ran out of yarn before I finished and had to find leftover yarn of that colour to complete the second sleeve.

I was finally done and loved how it looked, especially when I tried it on. Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures with it, at least not yet.

I don’t think the pictures do justice to how good it looks. It’s simple, but cutesy and feminine.


Guess what, guys? After making the top, I wasn’t sure it’d fit my outfit because I plan to wear Crocs with my ripped boyfriend jeans. It seemed like the mesh might look a bit off so just in case, I decided to make something else. I’m currently working on another cropped top with the double crochet stitch that’ll look like a little T-shirt. I can’t wait to show you guys the finished look!

Till then, ciao!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center