Step by step process of how I cut and sewed a Chef's Cap from recycle fabrics. Needlework your kitchen contest

Hello, my amazing people in the needlework community! Monday is here once again, and it seems like this Monday came by faster than I thought. I am running out of time on almost everything, and my time management techniques just slipped out of my fingertips. Such experiences are common every now and then, and all we have to do is reschedule our tasks and fall on track one more time.

Screenshot_20240729-130512.jpg

While I had planned to give an entry to the current contest in the community, I have been lost on ideas about what to present.
I have read about as many of your crocheted kitchen table mats, tea cup holders, and even some toast bread and burgers, or will I just call it a breakfast set, either knitted or crocheted? They were all beautiful, and I was more than happy to see so many skills and talents flying around the community.

Screenshot_20240729-125535.jpg

Along the way, I have seen some transformations of old garments into lovely aprons by my sewing buddies here. After giving this a good thought, I just remembered one important thing I needed in my kitchen and have never had all these years.

A chef cap to cover our hair while we cook. I can beat my chest to tell you that a lot of us do not bother to wear caps whenever we make our meals in the kitchen. My mom has always complained about the importance of keeping away hair strands or fingernail cuttings from our cooking.

The few times I have found a hair strand in my meal at a restaurant have stopped me from eating out or eating at certain restaurants. Good grooming is really important while making our meals, and it will be only fair that we do not get sick because of eating unhygienic food.

Screenshot_20240729-125437.jpg

While I was out of any fabric at home to make this hat or cap, I thought to use my African print fabric since I still have the pieces from last year. These were such tiny pieces that I had to keep joining them here and there to make the whole pieces that I needed.

IMG_1428-1.jpeg

IMG_1432.jpeg

Next, I cut a band for the base of the cap using every piece of this fabric available.

IMG_1422.jpeg

And then cut a flair off several pieces of the African print fabric.

Stitched all the frail edges of the band before pleating the African print fabric on them.

IMG_1430.jpeg

IMG_1421.jpeg

Another thing I did here was to add an excess of the slimmer band to make the cap adjustable for people of different head sizes. I could have used a press button for that, but I didn't have any at home.

Then I remembered the apron I had sewn at the kitchen contest the previous year. In order to make both a complete matching kitchen outfit, I did rework this apron, removing the embellishment that doesn't fit into the piece and replacing it with a much more useful pocket.

IMG_1436.jpeg

IMG_1439.jpeg

You may just want to put something in the apron while cooking.

IMG_1440.jpeg

This is the perfect kitchen outfit for your everyday cooking.

IMG_1495.jpeg

I have hung this on my kitchen door for anyone wanting to enter my kitchen to cook. Remember the importance of good grooming while cooking, and always make healthy meals for your family.

Screenshot_20240729-125627.jpg

Thanks for stopping by.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center