A bag full of walnuts – a crochet project

You had the whole day, or even if it was just the afternoon, to work on something. But nothing happens. No ideas, no motivation to start, literally anything distracts you. Until finally you give up, decide to postpone for the next day and go to bed.

And this is when your brain starts working. Ideas after ideas, only good ones of course, in fact they are so exciting, that you would like to jump up and start and finish them all at once in this very moment.
While you lay there, under your duvet and wondering why you can’t sleep.

Wondering why your brain, after staying inactive and quiet for all those hours decides to wake up now.

It seems that all those thoughts you accumulated over time break free all at once. Rolling over you like a big wave and suddenly you must watch out, not to drown.

How do late night inspirations, waves and walnuts fit into a crochet project?

As the late-night wave of ideas, I did have the desire to crochet since weeks and months. Until last week, where I finally got my shit together and started to do so. Now I am getting more and more ideas and the desire to improve and try out slightly different techniques and versions is definitely there.

Therefore, just after I finished a first crochet bag for my apples. I immediately started to crochet a second one. Planning on some adjustments, wider bag and slimmer handles...

Two crochet projects within a few days. After I haven't touched the thread and hook for years. Even though it is such a calming craft. And you could fill up any sort of time with it.

A sort of passive, active occupation, that would justify yourself just sitting in the sun, not doing anything else than crocheting and thinking.

Or make you enjoy boring times, make them feel less of a waste of time. I remember how I used to knit in school, literature and mathematic lessons, to pass the time. At least I had a sweater at the end of hours not interested in what I was supposed to learn.

And while I crochet along to the days of my recent life, each hook becomes a memory of a moment, a thought.

While I crochet, I think or I listen, to the conversations I am partially involved in, the fire cracking the wood logs.

For about a week I was working on that crochet bag. I got kind of hocked those market/fruit bags. Simple, useful and super cute.

And when I break it all down to its basics, it is all about wrapping and collecting things.

We wrap it all in the end. Ourselves in clothes, our clothes in wardrobes or bags and suitcases. Backpacks to carry them around.
Our food and fruits, we wrap and move them in bags until they get stored in their place.

We collect berries in summer just to store them in baskets and nuts in autumn, fill them in bags.

Bags.

What item wouldn’t fit in a bag?

I would find use for thousands of bags.

One to store fabric scraps.

One to contain fruits.

One to hold vegetables.

One for random objects.

One for socks.

One for garlic and onions.

And one to keep all the walnuts.

Collected on a gray autumn day earlier this year.

Who will crack all those nuts? I don't know. At least they are wrapped in a bag now.

Thank you all to pass by, have a wonderful week!

And thanks to @crosheille and the @needleworkmonday community for all the inspiration to #needleworkyourbucketlist and make me get into crocheting one bag after the other😅

All photos in this post are my own, taken by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency