Where to store my apples? -a crochet project

As soon as the weather starts to shift from autumn to winter, I get the urge to knit and crochet.

Too bad, that I am not very skilled nor patient for eighter of those crafts. Put off by those limitations I barely start any crochet or knitting projects.

But the desire is there, every year, again and again.

This winter was no exception.

The nights are cold and long. Watching movies or the fire burn, I would love to have some thread or wool passing through my fingers, creating something hook by hook, while watching the flames burning down the wood.

Sitting around a table, and crochet while I follow the conversations. Sitting on the passenger seat, while driving through snowy landscapes, one eye on the white hills and one on my golden thread.

Recently I found my crochet needle. Accident? Destiny?

What could I make?

I absolutely adore crochet bralettes and tops. But my relationship to them is somewhat rather tragic and so far, always ended up in a lot of unraveling.

After the needle was found, I also remember a project, I started ages ago and only finished halve the way. The plan there was a two-piece lingerie/loungewear consisting of a bottom (which I made and finished) and a top/bralette that I started and unraveled and recrochet a few times already.

Should I give it another try?

Or leave it for good?

Luckily, I got distracted by the mess my apples and bananas are creating in the kitchen, by wildly wandering all over the place. With nowhere to go or belong.

And this is where I decide to crochet a bag for my fruits.

First, I go through the unraveling of the previous bralette project.

Lots of unraveling.

And rewinding the yarn.

Into balls.

Quite a lot of yarn.

A bit of research on the internet later, I am having a glimpse on how to proceed.

I go something between improvising and following tutorials.

In the end it is all pretty much about repeating the same steps. Which ich exactly what I was looking for. Perfect for just crocheting along.

Not too much counting and thinking.

Calming side occupation.

I am not giving you a tutorial here, because I have no clue how to name all those hooks or loops. But essentially you just make a circle and then add loop after loop.

Going in circles.

Round and round.

Until your bag is big enough.

For whatever use you like it.

Storing apples for example.

Meanwhile I adore the color of the yarn and the optic, the bag turned out a bit too narrow in my opinion.

Still does the job though.

The apples just fall into it in a row. Why not?

Good enough for a first-time crochet after years of not touching it.

In fact, I liked the process enough to try again, slightly different style, slightly wider, different handles. That’s the plan.

Thank you all for passing by. And thank you especially to @crosheille and the @needleworkmonday community for the inspiration to #needleworkyourbucketlist and get me into something I haven't done in years, but wanted to do at least every winter; crochet.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency