Trying Something New:The Ancient Art of Spinning


Our ancestors had to learn to turn wool into yarn. After reading about textile history and knitting with handspun yarns, I decided to experience just how difficult it was to make my own yarn.

I had it easy, because I started with clean, carded wool batts. Following basic directions from a book and using a drop spindle, I used simple physics to apply forces to fiber and twist it enough that it held together.

Making yarn is simple. Making good, consistent yarn? Well, it will take me many more hours of practice to get there! Here are my first 2 attempts;


And then a third try:


And a fourth:


I am now working with the black sheep wool again, hoping to make a longer skein of more consistent yarn. Even when the result is eccentric, the process is relaxing.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center