Monster Progress!

F7F59BB9-9169-4115-BCCD-425EE170CDBE.png

Since my last post I have made quite a bit of progress on my son’s amigurumi monster.

This is another project I have enjoyed doing. It’s always fun seeing it all come together.

I decided to do this progress post because the monster and his friend (I’ll be making two) will not be ready by Monday. I have some more customizing ideas to make this monster look exactly how my son envisioned.

So @smilestitches I think you will be happy to know he will get a monster that looks very close to the one he drew 😄😉. @Smilestitches was teasing me and rooting for my son saying it wasn’t fair he wasn’t getting the monster he imagined. 😂😜

I’ll save those details for another post as I don’t want to give away all of the additions I’ll be doing.

097EDB73-1C15-4371-BC7D-DDF2E79D6450.jpeg

His body is all stuffed and ready to be sewed. It’s a pretty big opening but what I’m putting on the top will take care of it.

I didn’t want to stuff the head too much because I want the entire body to be a bit flexible for playtime.

My son is not just going to look at this monster or display it on a shelf. He will be playing with this daily as a part of his monster war games. I will need to take as many photos of it as I can before it gets worn out lol.

75461AE8-C086-4C56-ACFB-1BEA5DBF864D.jpeg

I have created my first wig folks!

I crocheted a small narrow piece that will be sewn to the top of the monster for it’s head. I then took three strands of yarn (two blues and one orange) and attached them with a hook to the stitches. Here’s what it looks like in the front…

3A7CB8CF-BBFA-4DD1-9843-F3A3F56AAED1.jpeg

I want it to have a nice full head of hair. I’ll probably trim it when I’m all done so it won’t be too long. I do want it to have a spike look. My son has expressed he likes that.

Adding on the strands was a bit time consuming but I know it’ll be worth it in the end.

AE050EE1-A46E-4B55-B633-6A6D5414C1D4.jpeg

I have also sewn the eye on as well as the mouth. I decided to add a tooth on him using white thread. I think for the second monster I will add on two teeth to differentiate them a bit.

When my son saw his tooth he shouted out loud “whoa cool, I like it!” It made me happy to see he appreciates all of the extra details I’m adding. Just wait till he sees the other custom parts I’m planning. 😁


Stay tuned for more. I’m not sure if next week I’ll have more to share but I do plan on having a photoshoot with both monsters in the end. Yea, that’s the fun stuff! 😆

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.


Thanks for keeping up with my progress!


1E290CB2-E476-4F94-A92A-B2C7429237F4.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency