Sewing in Society ~ Mending my Awkward People Skills Patch by Patch

Re-reading Little Women has had me inspired to sew a little bit every day, just like Jo and the March girls who would work on sewing projects together every night while recounting stories and catching up.

These days, I’m afraid, all we usually do in groups is fill the time between glances at our phones. I can’t say I’m any better. When it comes to in-person gatherings, I’m as awkward as anyone else.

I began to wonder if bringing my sewing along could be a helpful icebreaker in social situations.

I really do have a lot of needlework. Pants need patching. Some favorite jeans need saving. There are at least two pairs of leggings that can be salvaged. They all went into my basket, and I headed off to a nearby park.

When I was a new and inexperienced mender, I patched these jeans with a couple of pieces of darker fabric. Now I don’t like how these jeans look and want to update my needlework with patches that aren’t very noticeable.

These jeans already have a lot going on, and adding visible patches kind distracts from the lovely embroidery that decorate the jeans. With fabric scissors I cut out the darker jean and then turned the pants inside out to make neater patches from the inside.

I also added a couple of patches to some much loved corduroy pants. This time I did a visible mending style so that the patches are totally visible. I used scraps of colorful quilting fabric left over from another project and bright embroidery thread.

While sewing in the park, I did a lot of people watching. Folks strolled with their dogs. Others seemed immersed in their cell phones. Parents took their kids to run about under the shade of the trees. I even saw a very cute couple having a picnic by the pond.

As far a socializing goes, I did very little. When someone passed by I smiled and that is pretty much it.

A second experiment with more results
Later on, however, I took my project to the front lawn of the house where I’m currently staying.

In the yard, I had many interactions with neighbors walking their dogs or strolling with their young children. I realize that a big part of engaging with others is seeming receptive to a social interaction.

With my hands busy with a simple task, my mind felt a bit less awkward about sitting alone. Some shy people avoided eye contact all together. A good deal more, however, glanced my way and said “hello.”

These are all such baby steps, I know. The real test will be taking a bag of sewing projects to a party and not seeming like more of an odd-person-out than if I hadn’t.

Except for a few years in college, I have never been much of a party person. So maybe looking engaging in the front yard while also making a dent in my mountain of sewing is just what this homebody needs!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center