A CUTE YELLOW SKIRT FOR MY NEWBORN NEICE🥰🥰

I had spent a whole year to learn how to sew and it is little moments like these that reminds me of why I had wanted to learn the craft in the first place.

My cousin who had recently gotten married had just given birth to a baby girl. I couldn't attend the naming nor the christening of the child because I was in school. So obviously I haven't seen my newborn neice before.
I had gotten back from school for the holidays a week ago and I just got news from my cousin that they are visiting. I had initially said I would visit them immediately after my exams for the semester but my cousin had already beat me to it.

My cousin lives a few miles from me. She and the baby would be arriving on Sunday. I got so excited about seeing them that I decided to make something for my newborn neice.

IMG-20241005-WA0009.jpg

I decided to make a cute yellow skirt for her because my cousin loves yellow which ironically I hate.
I thought about just buying her a present but then I realized that it wouldn't have much emotion attached to it. I wanted my cousin to feel my love and affection through my work and so I got to work on my needlework.

I got the required items from the store close by and began crafting a cute skirt for my cute neice.

IMG-20241004-WA0025.jpg

I haven't seen my baby neice before so I had to be creative with the measurements. I made the waist band 1 inch but added a half inch for sewing allowance.
I cut out the material for the flare and folded it into two to make it have that puffy look.

IMG-20241004-WA0033.jpg
After seeing the skirt, I thought it looked too plain so I brought out the creative seamstress in me and decided to accessorize. I used crystal buttons to add some shimmer on the skirt since it's a baby girl.

IMG-20241004-WA0029.jpg

I have always hated yellow but I had to admit, the skirt was looking better than I thought it would.
Making the skirt was so much fun and I can't wait for my cousin to see it. I do hope she likes it when she sees it on Sunday.

IMG-20241004-WA0030.jpg
What do you guys think about the skirt.
Images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center