[ENG-ESP] Embroidery Blue Tulip - Tulipán azul Bordado (Tutorial)

Hi guys!

As you know, I have been practicing how to embroider to make handkerchiefs for Christmas gifts for my family. So far I have made Lavender Flowers and Roses. Today I made a tulip. This is one of my favorite flowers, they have always seemed magical to me because they do not look like any other flower and when I was a child I swore they were fake, as if they were taken from a fairy tale.

I made this one big enough to get the hang of it before trying to make them miniature for the scarves. I think this is a good plan to be able to practice until you master this type of embroidery because the bigger it is, the easier it is to see the mistakes.

Hola chicos!
Como saben, he estado practicando como hacer bordados para hacer pañuelos de regalos de navidad para mi familia. Hasta ahora he hecho Flores de Lavanda y Rosas. Hoy hice un tulipán. Esta es una de mis flores favoritas, siempre me han parecido mágicas porque no se parecen a ninguna otra flor y cuando era niña juraba que eran de mentira, como si fuesen sacados de un cuento de hadas.
Esta la hice bastante grande para agarrarle el truco antes de intentar hacerlas en miniatura para los pañuelos. Creo que esto es un buen plan para poder practicar hasta dominar este tipo de bordados porque entre más grande más fácil es ver los errores.

IMG_20221127_170626_1.jpg

For the stem I made a Stem Stitch and for the flower itself I have no idea what this stitch is called, but it can be used to make other types of flowers, such as sunflowers, poppies, etc…

Another thing that I find interesting is that I realized that to embroider you don't need a fabric like linen to see the threads. I have been practicing with a stretch fabric between lycra and cotton and I have not had any problems. It's just important to use a ballpoint needle so as not to tear the fabric.

Para el tallo hice un Punto Tallo y para la flor en si no tengo ni idea de como se llama este punto, pero sirve para hacer otro tipo de flores, como girasoles, amapolas, etc…
Otra cosa que me parece interesante es que me di cuenta que para bordar no es necesario una tela como el lino para ver las hebras. He estado practicando con una tela stretch entre la licra y el algodón y no he tenido ningún problema. Solo que es importante usar una aguja punta roma para no romper la tela.

These are the materials I used:

• Threads
• fabric
• Embroidery hoop
• Ballpoint needle for embroidery
• Scissors
• Pencil

Estos son los materiales que usé:
*Madeja
*Tela
*Aro de bordar
*Aguja punta roma para bordar
*Tijera
*Lapiz

1_ Stem Point

Punto Tallo

For the stems of the flowers, I used a stem stitch which is done following the instructions in the images. I use 3 strands of green thread for the stems.

IMG_20221127_162050.jpg

IMG_20221127_162241.jpg

IMG_20221127_162303.jpg

IMG_20221127_162839.jpg

How to embroider a Tulipan?

1. Draw a pseudo oval

Where the flower embroidery will go, you have to draw a very clear plump oval to have an approximate of where our flower will go.

1.Dibujar un pseudo ovalo
En donde va a ir el bordado de la flor, hay que dibujar un ovalo rechonchito muy claro para tener un aproximado de donde va a ir nuestra flor.

IMG_20221127_162050 (2).jpg

2. Make 2 Basting Stitches

Tulips are multi-spiked, but viewed from the side they appear three-spiked. One in the center of the inner bud and two on the sides of the outer petals.

This embroidery begins with the cocoon in the center.
2 vertical hems are made in the center of the oval. Starting at the top and then making a vertical hem at the bottom, almost touching the stem.

The smaller they are, the easier it is to complete them, but the larger these stitches are, the bulkier and fuller our tulip will be.

2.Hacer 2 Puntadas Bastas
Los tulipanes tienen varias puntas, pero vistas de lado parecen tres puntas. Uno en el centro del capullo interior y otros dos a los lados de los pétalos exteriores.
Este bordado se empieza por el capullo del centro.
Se hacen 2 bastas verticales en el centro del ovalo. Empezando por arriba y luego hacer una basta vertical en la parte inferior, casi tocando el tallo.
Entre más pequeñas sean, más fácil es completarlas pero entre más grandes sean estas puntadas, más abultado y relleno quedará nuestro tulipán.

IMG_20221127_163439.jpg

IMG_20221127_163505.jpg

3. Pull out the needle

You have to remove the needle from the left side of the second best, the bottom one.

3.Sacar la aguja
Hay que sacar la aguja por el lado izquierdo de la segunda basta, la de abajo.

IMG_20221127_163536.jpg

4. Fill the hems in a clockwise direction

Now you have to pass the needle under the upper hem from left to right and then through the lower hem from right to left.

4.Rellenar las bastas en el sentido de las agujas de reloj
Ahora hay que pasar la aguja por debajo de la basta superior de izquierda a derecha y luego por la basta inferior de derecha a izquierda.

IMG_20221127_163617.jpg

IMG_20221127_163644.jpg

5. Repeat the previous step until finished.

Well guys, this is my embroidered tulip. I made it blue because this is my favorite color, although I like dark tones better, I think a darker color would not have been so beautiful.

5.Repetir el paso anterior hasta terminar.
Bueno chicos, este es mi tulipán bordado. Lo hice azul porque este es mi color favorito aunque me gustan más los tonos oscuros, creo que uno color más oscuro no hubiese quedado tan bonito.

IMG_20221127_163655.jpg

I hope you liked it and tell me what you think. I also need help deciding which ones to practice next. I'm among sunflowers or something more Christmassy. I think the flowers that are not associated with the holidays would be easier for the scarves because my family could use them without problems but the Christmas ones would be perfect for Christmas night and also my mom loves Christmas to an almost obsessive level.

Espero que les haya gustado y que me comenten que les parecio. Tambien necesito ayuda para decidir cuales practicar después. Estoy entre girasoles o algo más navideño. Creo que las flores que no estan asociadas a las fiestas serían más fáciles para los pañuelos porque mi familia podría usarlos sin problemas pero los navideños quedarían perfectos para la noche de navidad y también mi mamá le encanta la navidad a un nivel casi obsesivo.

IMG_20221127_170123 (2).jpg

IMG_20221127_170127.jpg

IMG_20221127_170624_1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now