Lory's new OCD pullover

Towards the end of last month I decided I needed to knit Lory a few more pullovers as she has outgrown many of her jumpers and cardigans and winter is on it's way here.

There were a few other things that I needed to buy at the habby including some grey yarn to complete my Celtic Knotwork skirt, some teddy bear eyes for Flyzee & Flyee the amigurumi Unicorns and I asked Lory if she would like to choose the wool for her pullover. Of course this got her highly enthused. I figured that if she has a say in the wool then she has a vested interest in the jersey from the get go and there's more chance of her wearing it often and looking after it.

The other part of this process is the challenging (but fun) part - finding a good pattern to follow. I wanted a simple pattern that I knit without having to put too much concentration or focus into as I would probably be knitting while waiting for automated process to complete like running backups or downloads. I went through a lot of patterns, probably a few hundred before I found one that was suitable. I've knitted off Yarnspiration patterns before and I absolutely LOVE the fact that they colour code the different sizes, it makes the patterns so much easier to read and the chances of you getting mixed up and knitting the incorrect size in parenthesis is so much lower. I've linked the pattern at the bottom for anyone who would like to download it in PDF. The sleeves are raglan style and it's knitted using 4mm and 5mm straight needles and Double Knit yarn.



It has sizes for 2,4,6,8 and 10 - it doesn't actually say whether these are for ages but it does have bust measurements alongside which you can use to guage which would be best. I went with size 8 which stated that I would require approximately 900m of yarn (but 1x 200g ball +/-600m was actually sufficient). I like to go to the habby with the information that I need up front so that I don't have to try and figure out what I will need in the shop. Spending a long time in a habby shop is a poor idea and often always ends with me spending more cash than I set aside for the outting so I try to keep the visits short and I focus on what's on the shopping list. Sometimes I get it right.

I really like this little habby, it's not massive but it has a wide variety of yarn and it stocks most of my favourite brands. I don't know why, but I have always loved knitting and crocheting with Elle yarn. It is excellent quality and good value for money.

Lory was very excited to be able to pick out her own wool for her pullover. When I asked her what kind of colour she wants she said "unicorn" - so of course when she saw the colour crush she went a bit nuts with excitement.



She then tried to bribe me in myriad ways to buy an array of other things that we don't need and that certainly weren't on the shopping list. They didn't come home with us though lol.

I started knitting her pullover on 25th March and I finished it today. It's a bit big on her but that means she'll be able to wear it for a good while before she grows out of it. I've called it the OCD Jersey because the lines don't quite line up and three of the five ribbing sections are two tone while the other two are one solid colour. It's just how it happened I'm afraid and while it will probably bug the living daylights out of ME, Lory absolutely loves the different colours and that's what matters.


Here's the pattern:

https://www.yarnspirations.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-master-catalog-spinrite/default/dw36dc2630/PDF/CAK0329-008140M.pdf


I highly recommend this easy knit for those who are wanting to make simple, yet comfy pullovers for their kids.


Divider Grey Heart.png

Backing5.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now