My Spider Lily / Mi Lirio Araña

English

My Spider Lily

More than a year ago a friend gave me several beautiful lilies, which were all piled up in a pot, the soil was full of ants and obviously the pot where they were was no longer suitable to house them all, on that occasion I dedicated myself to separate them, clean them and find them a new and better home, and my mother kept two, my sister kept one and a neighbour gave her another pair, meanwhile I brought home two plants that were already a considerable size, with great care and affection I planted them right in front, where in the future my garden will be fully constituted.

Español

Mi Lirio Araña

Hace más de un año una amiga me regaló varios hermosos lirios, los cuales venían todos apilados en una maceta, la tierra estaba llena de hormigas y obviamente la maceta en donde estaban ya no era apta para albergarlos a todos, en esa ocasión me dediqué a separarlos, limpiarlos y encontrarles un nuevo y mejor hogar, y mamá se quedó con dos, mi hermana con uno y una vecina le regalamos otro par, mientras tanto yo me traes a casa dos plantas que ya tenían un tamaño considerable, con mucho esmero y cariño las sembré justo al frente, en donde en un futuro estará constituido plenamente mi jardín.

0-IMG_20240823_200437.jpg

To tell the truth the months passed, the plants seemed to be healthy and growing, but there was absolutely no sign that the flowering process was beginning, the days passed and little by little I was entering a deep state of despair, as I was very curious to know how those flowers were, everyone was telling me that they were beautiful, but for some reason none of the lilies that came in that pot had bloomed yet, at times I thought that I was not taking care of them in the right way, but when I checked again and again I realized that the soil was perfectly fertilized, they have a huge dose of sunlight and at the same time a good hydration, so there was no reason for so much delay.

A decir verdad pasaron los meses, las plantas parecían estar sanas e ir creciendo, pero no había absolutamente ninguna señal de que fuera inicial el proceso de floración, transcurriendo los días y poco a poco fui entrando en un profundo estado de desesperación, ya que sentía mucha curiosidad por saber cómo eran esas flores, todo el mundo me decía que eran hermosas, pero por alguna razón ninguno de los lirios que venían en esa maceta aún habían floreado, por momentos pensaba que no los estaba cuidando de la manera correcta, pero al revisar una y otra vez me daba cuenta de que la tierra estaba perfectamente abonada, tienen una enorme dosis de luz solar y al mismo tiempo una buena hidratación, así que no había razón para tanta demora.

IMG_20240823_200412.jpg

A couple of days ago while clearing the weeds I was filled with a lot of anger, since I want a flowery and productive garden, that is why I drained all that stress against the lilies, I scolded them out loud and even shook them, threatening to pull them up by the roots if they did not bloom soon, well that scene happened and everyone who watched me whispered that I was a crazy person and actually they might be right because not many people usually argue with the plants in their garden.

Hace un par de días mientras limpiaba la maleza me llene de mucha rabia, puesto que yo quiero un jardín floreado y productivo, es por ello que drene todo ese estrés en contra de los lirios, en voz alta lo regañé e incluso los agité, amenazándolos con arrancarlos de raíz si no floreaban pronto, bueno esa escena pasó y todo el mundo que me observó susurraba que yo era un loco y en realidad puede que tengan algo de razón porque no muchas personas suelen discutir con las plantas de su jardín.

IMG_20240823_200443.jpg

The aforementioned situation was forgotten and yesterday a big storm was approaching my city, the electric service remained unstable, lightning illuminated the night sky and thunder shook the earth, meanwhile a rain of varying intensity cooled a city that had lived some really hot days, that's how as I looked out the window I discovered a strange button emerging from the middle of the lily plant, waoooo! They were going to bloom, this was incredible, when I saw that I was filled with joy and instantly a smile came over my face. Since the day of the scolding I hadn't looked at them again, as we were fighting and I really didn't want to have another impulse that would make me confront them face to face, where obviously the results for the lily would have been fatal, but passing over this, I tell you that the hours passed quickly, the storm was still present and the rain was still falling intermittently, But the most surprising thing of all was when I went back to the window, when I looked towards the lilies, a huge and beautiful flower had already emerged in the middle of that dark and cold night, it was a ray of light capable of overshadowing the ferocity of the storm, a true gift of nature that I did not expect.

La situación antes mencionada quedó en el olvido y el día de ayer una gran tormenta se acercaba a mi ciudad, el servicio eléctrico se mantenía inestable, los relámpagos iluminaban el cielo nocturno y los truenos estremecían toda la tierra, mientras tanto una lluvia de intensidad variable refrescaba a una ciudad que había vivido unos días realmente muy calurosos, es así como mientras me asomaba por la ventana descubrí un extraño botón que emergía desde el medio de la planta de lirios, waoooo! Iban van a florear, esto era increíble, al ver eso me llené de mucha alegría y de forma instantánea una sonrisa se apoderó de mi rostro. Desde el día del regaño no los había vuelto a mirar, ya que estábamos peleados y realmente no quería tener otro impulso que me hiciera enfrentarlos cara a cara, en donde obviamente los resultados para el lirio hubieran sido fatales, pero pasando esto por alto, les cuento que las horas transcurrieron rápidamente, la tormenta seguía presente y la lluvia seguía cayendo de forma intermitente, pero lo más sorprendente de todo fue cuando me volví a acercar a la ventana, al mirar hacia los lirios ya una enorme y bella flor había emergido en medio de esa noche tan oscura y fría, se trataba de un rayo de luz capaz de opacar la ferocidad de la tormenta, un verdadero regalo de la naturaleza que yo no me esperaba.

IMG_20240823_200451.jpg

I ran out to see what it was all about and when I had the opportunity to detail that flower to perfection I realised that everyone was right, this lily is truly beautiful, perfect and radiant, where a heavenly white is combined with small orange touches, thus generating a perfect natural union, capable of radiating good energies, joy and perfection.

Corriendo salí a ver de qué se trataba Y cuándo tuve la oportunidad de detallar a la perfección aquella flor me di cuenta de que todos tenían razón, este lirio es verdaderamente hermoso, perfecto y radiante, en donde un blanco celestial se combina con pequeños toques naranjas, generando así una unión natural perfecta, capaz de irradiar buenas energías, alegría y perfección.

IMG_20240823_200455.jpg

The spider lily or also known in the scientific community as Hymenocallis littoralis, is a perennial plant, which arises from a bulb and is characterized by sword-shaped leaves, which are long and green, the flowers stand out for having a whitish colour and emerge from a tube of approximately 15 cm long. Within what I could investigate I discovered that this is a plant native to Central America, well known in countries like Mexico and Nicaragua, but over the centuries it has become a species that inhabits virtually all tropical America, this because they are perfectly adapted to the strong solar incidence and rainfall patterns of the region.

El lirio Araña o también conocido en la comunidad científica cómo Hymenocallis littoralis, es una planta perenne, la cual surge a partir de un bulbo y se caracteriza por contar con hojas en forma de espada, las cuales son largas y de color verde, las flores se destacan por tener un color blancuzco y emerger de un tubo de aproximadamente 15 cm de largo. Dentro de lo que pude investigar descubrí que esta es una planta nativa de Centroamérica, muy conocida en países como México y Nicaragua, Pero con el pasar de los siglos se ha convertido en una especie que habita en prácticamente toda la América tropical, esto debido a que se adaptan perfectamente a la fuerte incidencia solar y a los patrones lluviosos de la región.

IMG_20240823_200459.jpg

This is a species that fortunately is not endangered and that in general terms is very appreciated, since its beautiful flowers and its general beauty are capable of attracting and stealing all eyes, in addition it is a very noble plant, capable of resisting the onslaughts of nature and overcoming all difficulties. She taught me that patience is vital in our lives, but that sometimes determination and character are also important, I am one of those who believe that plants are not inert beings, but that they are living species capable of feeling the energies, feelings and emotions that circulate around them and according to this they give a natural response, which can sometimes be subtle, but at other times it is a clear and concise action, as this flowering process has shown.

Este es una especie que afortunadamente no se encuentra en peligro y que en términos generales es muy apreciada, ya que sus hermosas flores y su belleza general son capaces de atraer y robarse todas las miradas, además se trata de una planta muy noble, capaz de resistir los embates de la naturaleza y sobreponerse ante todas las dificultades. Ella me enseñó que la paciencia es vital en nuestra vida, pero que a veces la determinación y el carácter también son importantes, soy de los que cree que las plantas no son seres inertes, sino que se trata de especies vivas capaces de sentir las energías, los sentimientos y emociones que circulan a su alrededor y conforme a ello dan una respuesta natural, que a veces puede ser sutil, pero en otras ocasiones se trata de una acción Clara y concisa, tal y como este proceso de floración lo ha demostrado.

IMG_20240826_120244.jpg

I promise not to bother me any more with my lily, from now on we will begin to work in a relationship of cooperation and patience, where love shines and where little by little we can generate a pleasant and harmonious environment, so that the plant can feel itself in a loved and beloved space, which will allow it to generate many more flowers and at the same time it can reproduce itself so that over the years it will last and grow as a fundamental element in the garden of my house.

Prometo no molestarme más con mi lirio, desde ahora comenzaremos a trabajar en una relación de cooperación y paciencia, te brille el amor y en donde poco a poco podamos ir generando un ambiente agradable y armónico, para que de esta manera la planta pueda sentirse en un espacio querido y amado, lo cual le permita generar muchísimas más flores y al mismo tiempo pueda reproducirse para que durante los años perdure y crezca como un elemento fundamental dentro del jardín de mi casa.

IMG_20240826_120251.jpg


Fuentes / Sources

Gardenia.Net

Mundo Forestal

iNaturalist MX


FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCg43AbXDuHD2o1pSFmw9t6dCJZXRjDbN9aPZzKb2txM6rGEuPnKkx8GfXnLduM6tAzK3DNLBdCNF2RY6M647qH2B1qbjaJ97h6csSDeEmwq9rE.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments