To be a shepherd in the 21st century. Has this profession been lost?

Have you personally met such people in the country where you live? We are talking about shepherds who take the sheep out to pasture in the morning before sunrise and collect them late in the evening. And not just for breeders who raise sheep for wool, milk and meat.
p1300363.jpg
I met one in 2013 on the outskirts of my village, where I was out for a walk with my parents and my niece. You can see him and his herd in the photos.
p1300362.jpg
We were first greeted by the shepherd dog, who looked at us rather suspiciously, but nevertheless decided that we were not a threat to the herd. After the owner appeared, he became very friendly and even allowed us to pet him.
p1300377.jpg
My niece grew up in the city and saw sheep live for the first time. Yes, they weren't like the pictures and didn't look like white fluffy clouds, but they were still interesting enough for her.
p1300369.jpg
We met the shepherd and asked him to tell us about his livelihood. The man told us that his father was also a shepherd and inherited the profession from him. When he was young he took care of the sheep of three villages and then there were hundreds of animals in his herd.
p1300378.jpg
I do not know whether this shepherd practices his projection to this day. Honestly, his village has been turned into a neighborhood of the city, so raising pets there is now banned. I hope he has found other green meadows on which to walk his sheep.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center