Last night's drawing

I've been so upset, because for the second year in a row someone decided my garden box was trash and threw all the cleaning out of other people's dead plants into my box, which was not dead. We had snow, but my plants didn't die. They called them "dead weeds" when they were medical herbs and I didn't think we were gardening only what our neighbors thought was worthwhile. Not to mention, the clover I planted is nitrogen fixing, and good for pollinators.

No, my garden box wasn't bare soil and two common vegetable plants that were bought mostly grown already. Yes, some of the veg I tried didn't do well, but I wanted the other plants in there, too. And they just smothered it all in their weeding and actually dead plants.

No, I do not like unhealthy gardens that try to exist outside of the system. I try to make my garden A PART OF the ecosystem. Apparently that makes it look "abandoned," even though I was tending it all year and did pull weeds I didn't want in there once I was sure what they were (like, one of them y'all helped me identify was amaranth, which I know where it came from because last year someone had like an 8 foot stalk of it grow, which must have been what seeded my box, so I pulled those. I know amaranth can be food but a) I'm probably allergic and b) I couldn't have several 8 foot stalks in there, ha ha). I didn't "abandon" it, I just let it be rather wild.

So anyway, I was upset, and vented my feelings onto paper. :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center