Someone once tried to sell us an Ice Maker in the Arctic.

20230726_163421.jpg

Someone once tried to sell us an Ice Maker in the Arctic.


I told them that I have an Igloo to sell them but it's in Arizona. 😂

One of the perks of living in the arctic is there is no need to buy ice to fill your cooler when you head out camping. On our island there is at least 2 spots where snow sticks well into August and on colder years can stick around the whole summer!

20230726_163741.jpg

My wife and I were heading to the cabin for a few days so we took our cooler about a half a kilometer down the beach to get some snow to fill it with. We accidentally brought our food with us so I had to put it on top of the snow while I filled it. Within 3 minutes we had a full chest of snow to keep our food cold for the weekend!

20230726_163425.jpg

On our way back to our cabin we noticed a nice patch of broken cliff that was a different color from the stuff over by our cabin. This ridge appears to be more calcite than limestone and in certain spots even bears tiny quartz pockets within the pockets and seams of the wall! But what caught our eye was this large circular trace fossil. A trace is the imprint left by a fossil's remains, often a negative mold of the creature that was mineralized.

20230726_165537.jpg

A short distance later we managed to find what we suspect to be the large body fossil (albeit heavily mineralized) I have no clue what this species of fossil may be and I will probably post it to reddit or... "X" in order to find out what it used to be. It's always exciting to find fossils so easily. We are truly spoiled by the abundance around us.

Oh! Unpictured, we managed to find some fossils with their shells over there! If I remember, the next time we head out to the cabin I will get some photos for y'all. Rocks are cool.

20230726_165524.jpg


All photos are my own unless explicitly stated otherwise

Camera can vary, Samsung s21, S23 Ultra, Nikon P900, Nikon D750

FxX5caie56ynwsjysm2XuNozdMysq1YNDRbt9X9VeerNm1981Q9QbBMDAvYrEjJ67Z3EpbrLRdsnBevZ2F6H5WcoSPwRUixeZ8mPnXPDCwCS.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center