The First Frog Spawn Of The Year

The days are gradually getting longer here in England. We have been fortunate so far this winter as apart from one week the weather has been quite mild. I always look forward to this time of year. The first daffodils are out and other plants are starting to poke there heads out of the soil. There are even signs of the birds starting to pair up, even though it is still officially winter.

One of the things that I always look forward to is the appearance of the first frog spawn in my garden pond. I've found that most years the first frogs venture out and spawn towards the end of February. So for the last couple of weeks I've had a stroll to the bottom of my garden every morning to see if they have done their stuff. Especially as it's been so mild.

Wednesday night was mild and wet, and as I was coming home with my wife I said to her to be careful where she stepped just incase there were any frogs on the path. The path to out house isn't well lit. Sure enough, just by our garden gate was a frog about to make its journey up our garden path to our pond.

So yesterday morning when I went to look in my pond I was delighted to see the first clump of frog's spawn. Its not very big, but I'm sure it will be added to over the next few days if the weather conditions are right.

The first frog spawn always cheers my heart. It means spring isn't far away. I will enjoy watching the tadpoles form and gradually change into tiny frogs. I'll enjoy watching my grandchildren watching them too.

Photo is mine taken with my phone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now