Rosehips for the finches.

rosehip bush pl 7.jpg


This is such a common view in a Polish countryside and I am so glad about it. All the wild areas that used to be full of the wild plants, bushes and young trees are slowly taken over and houses pop one after another. So there is less and less places (though I still know a few guaranteed spots) where the wild roses can grow, bloom, smell like heaven and then give the red berries.


rosehip bush pl 4.jpg


As a little girl I remember my grandfather used to pick them in the fall. Then he was removing the spiky tips and bits of stems, drying them and was using them to make tea in winter since the berries are full of vitamin C. You can read about other goodies it has here. The tea is quite popular and probably easy to get if you cant get the fresh berries yourself.


rosehip bush pl 5.jpg


No, I did not pick any. I left them hanging there for the birds. Apparently finches like to nibble on them during the winter and when the snow comes and covers everything the red fruits might be the only thing they find.

Besides that they look very nice when everything else is dead and covered in white fluff.


rosehip bush pl 3.jpg


As I walked I shot the berries on few separate bushes. I was hoping to catch some birds too, but the finches are fast beasties. I did see some flying and there is quite a few of them around, but they are fast beasties and very camera shy it seems :)


rosehip bush pl 6.jpg

rosehip bush pl 9.jpg

rosehip bush pl 8.jpg


Aint that just lovely?


rosehip bush pl 1.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center