Moth Trap: 9th June 2023 - On Tour to the Scottish Lowlands 1/2

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

Screenshot_20230609-192724_BBC Weather.jpg

Date: 9th June 2023

Weather:

We arrived here in Sunny Scotland just a few hours earlier and after a quick stroll to explore, it was time to get down to business. I may be on holiday, but I've still brough my trusty Moth Trap along for some fun as well. As I often say, if you want to see new species, you need to travel to new places.

And here we are in Dalbeattie, in the South West corner of Scotland. And 'Sunny Scotland' is noteworthy in itself. People all over the world know that the UK is usually cold and wet, and Scotland is often the coldest and wettest part. However for the week we are here the weather is forecast to be between 26-30C all week.

All Week!

Quite frankly, its unheard off! And it does mean that A) I haven't brought enough sun screen... and B) the wellies will be a complete waste of time!

But enough waffling, the sun is beginning to set, so its time to dig the trap out and set it up. I brought the smaller one as it is easier for travelling, and placed it on the ground (on top of the white sheet) as below:

Day 1 moth trap-1.jpg

Day 1 moth trap-2.jpg

In the background you can see all the trees of the surrounding forest... Oak, Aspen, Birch, Beech... this is what I am missing at home, som well developed woodland. I'm hopeful of all sorts of cool stuff this evening (along with hopefully some new species to add to my life list), so without further ado, lets get on with it!

Results: 59 moths of 25 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

Oof! I expecting good stuff... and I certainly got it! The season started of reasonably slowly as I was waiting for darkness to fall completely. It was still warm at a comfortable and slightly humid 20C, so I was still in shorts and T-shirt by this point.

That wasn't gonna last!

Day 1 moth trap-3.jpg
Tawny-barred Angle - Macaria liturata

The first new moth for me was this Tawny-barred Angle. One of of the Geomietridae, its reasonable common across the UK, but as it is asscocaited with pine trees such as Scots Pine. it is one I would see at home.

Not a bad start, already one new species to add to my list.

As we approached 11pm, the numbers of species began to increase. There were several pugs sat on the trap, and some Buff Ermines were starting to appear

Day 1 moth trap-9.jpg
Scalloped Hook-tip - Falcaria lacertinaria

And then another new species to see, a Scalloped Hook-tip. The name Scallop refers to the wave edges at the edge of the wing. This was pretty cool, one of many species that I've seen posted in moth groups regularly and never seen for my self.

Annoyingly it was really difficult to take a picture and so this naff 'pot shot' was the best I managed!

In fact I struggled with getting clear pictures all evening, I didn't have the right equipment with me, and it was so warm that the moths refused to sit still

Day 1 moth trap-10.jpg

Map-winged Swift - Korscheltellus fusconebulosa

And another new species, as we approached midnight I had moths whizzing in from all directions! This Swift moth is another species that isn't really known in my home in Lincolnshire... this is why I bring my trap on holiday!

Talking of moths whizzing around, I also had lots of flies... as in really small, bitting flies -Midges! I can remember being bitten to hell when I was in Mull (further north in Scotland), and it looks like there is loads here as well.

I changed clothes and put on jeans and a hoodie, but the damage had already been done, I was bitten all over the place. Worse still, they were attracted to the light of my trap, so every time I learnt over the trap I leaned into a cloud of midges, flying into my ears and up my nose.... it was awful haha!

I resorted to short bursts of activity outside, and then retreating indoors again, I must have looked ridiculous!

And still new species appeared...

Day 1 moth trap-4.jpg
Poplar Lutestring - Tethea or

Naff picture again, but yet another species ticked off!

Day 1 moth trap-7.jpg
Brown Silver-lines

A moth I have seen regularly in heathland locations, but the first time I've caught it in a trap... was an excuse to get a nicer photo of it

Day 1 moth trap-5.jpg
Pebble Hook-tip - Drepana falcataria

And a couple of Pebble hook-tips were seen too. I've seen these at home, but they are super pretty so they deserved having a photo taken... the name comes from the pointy 'hook tips' on the end of each wing

It was now fast approaching 1AM. There were insects everywhere, the trap was covered and I was beginning to lose track of what I had seen. The numbers I have recorded are conservative estimates on the max I saw at any point, but there were lots more I wasn't able to count... I was on the verge of of turning it of when I suddenly spotted not 1, but 2 very interesting moths

Day 1 moth trap-8.jpg
Brussels Lace - Cleorodes lichenaria

Day 1 moth trap-6.jpg
Beautiful Snout - Hypena crassalis

Both of these have been high on my wish list for ages, neither of which have been seen in my home county... the Beautiful Snout especially is described as widespread but very local. The phot is rubbish again, but at least I manged to get one before he flew off!

I decided that was a fantastic way to end the session.

Now at 1:15AM, I decided to just turn everything off and retreat inside. The trap was abandoned outside, still covered in moths and those blasted midges. With the light off they would then disperse and carry one with what they would normally get up to in the darkness. I retired to bed exhausted, happy and covered in bites... I will need to up my midge deffence game for the next session later in the week!

What an exhausting session.... lots of moths, lots of midges, and lots of new species seen. The next few days are forecast to be a chance of thunderstorms, so I'll leave it a few days before trying again, and seeing if any other exciting moths appear, so watch this space!

Tomorrow, we are heading of to an RSPB reserve in a place called Wood of Cree, for a spot of bird watching and butterfly hunting...

hive signiture doze logo.png


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 5 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths and NatureSpot

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now