Moth Trap: 12th April 2022 - April Showers!

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

Screenshot_20220412-171234_BBC Weather.jpg

Date: 12th April 2022

Weather:

Well, due to missing the bus home, and the fact that I couldn't be bothered to wait for the next one as it was 40 minutes away. I decided to walk home. As it only takes 50 minutes for me to walk, I would almost beat the bus home, and I'd rather be walking than sat around waiting.

While walking home I was struck by how warm it felt and in fact it was quite muggy out there which generally means some rain. Warm and light rain means humid and that is the best conditions for trapping moths.

Besides, its been over 2 weeks since the last session, so what the hell, I rushed home and set the trap up.

As soon as I did so, the light rain started, so lets see what happens.

Results: 2 moths of 2 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

Well, it was a bit slow out there.

And when I say slow, I mean practically dead.

I think the rain that arrived just before I turned the trap on was harder than I initially thought, and has resulted in most of the moths 'hunkering down' instead of flying around

While waiting, I took the opportunity to update my recods so far this year, which included the trip to Kirkby Moor a few days ago. There I saw the Emperor Moth along with a True-Lover's Knot caterpillar, which needed adding to my year total.

image.png

With this done, I went out and checked again. The rain had stopped, but it had definitely gotten fresher i.e. less humid than previously. It looks like this might end up being a damp squib in the end

Hebrew Character-0023PP.jpg
Hebrew Character - Orthosia gothica

Back out I went at 10:30pm and hurrah! I found a moth!

It was only a Hebrew Character, and he was hiding down near the bottom of the wall near the trap, but it still counts!

And then I saw a pokey little thing fluttering around...

Double striped Pug-0080PP.jpg

Its a Double-striped Pug (Gymnoscelis rufifasciata).

Its only small (just 2 cm from wingtip to wingtip), and very common, but it is still worth recording along with anything else I can find. It is also the first time I have seen it this year, so it's good to tick it off.

By the time it reached midnight, there was nothing else happening, so I took the hint and turned it all off.

Bonus pictures for this week:

er...none this week, sorry! There was very little to see out there despite my initial high hopes.

Hopefully next time we can do better eh?


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 4 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center