Art Talk: Neodymium Reeds

For 6 months I have been going to the Desert Botanical Garden regularly. Now I want to share pictures of pieces in Chihuly in the Desert that I have taken at different times of day, through different seasons and light.

One of my favorite parts of the walk around the garden was this view of the Neodymium reeds framing the agave. I also talked about placement in this post with the Scarlet and Yellow Icicle Tower in Tennessee.



Dale Chihuly
Neodymium Reeds, 2021
Blown Glass
Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix, Arizona

I had such a great time doing intentional camera movement with many of the Chihuly pieces including Neodymium Reeds.

These were taken within a minute of each other. The first on is 1/20 and the second is 1/5


I found this spot and went back through the months.

JanuaryMarchApril

What is neodymium you ask?

Neodymium is "is a hard, slightly malleable, silvery metal that quickly tarnishes in air and moisture. When oxidized, neodymium reacts quickly to produce pink, purple/blue and yellow compounds in the +2, +3 and +4 oxidation states."

Here we get such beautiful purple colors.

This is another location I liked. The purple reeds with the trees, saguaro and agave all are so gorgeous.


Photo credit: Amy Jo, the one of me taking the picture. Thanks!

I am seriously enjoying going through these pictures of all the pieces and seeing the great pictures I got through the months.

Sources:
Neodymium

Other Chihuly in the Desert installations

Art Talk: Fiori Boat
Art Talk: Blue Birch Reeds and Scorpion Tails
Art Talk: Opal and Amber Tower
Art Talk: Lime and Lava Red Tower

Art Talk Series Highlights

2022
Theme: Artists
Art Talk: Yoyoi Kusama
Art Talk: Heloise Crista
Art Talk: Chihuly on Paper
Art Talk: Etel Adnan
Art Talk: Vasily Kandinsky

Other
Art Talk: Stained Glass Windows at the National Cathedral
ICM at the DBG

Art Talk: 2021 Posts
Art Talk: 2020 Posts
Art Talk: 2019 Posts
Art Talk: 2018 Posts

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center