Price - Power Ups - Future Gain

=.JPG

I'm pushing on towards seven and a half years on the blockchain and despite it changing so much (and not always for the better) I'm still here and forging ahead because I (mostly) enjoy it, the writing outlet it provides, and because of a handful of really cool people who interact with me...if you're one of those you'll know I'm talking about you.

Something I don't think about though is the price of Hive as it has zero bearing on whether I'm here or not.



I remember when the price was up at about $3.41 or so...Yeah, it happened. I sold a heap of Hive for USDT at the time and when the price dropped bought back a fuckload more Hive which I powered up. Having said that, about 184,000 of the approximately 271,000 Hive I hold currently has come from author and curation rewards - Power up and you'll earn curation, simple really. If you don't know your own split you can see it here, just type your own user name into the address bar at the top of your browser when you bring the link up.

I am a collector, not a spender; meaning, I am not living off Hive or any other crypto-currency, I gather it and hold. It's just magic internet money and doesn't have much use to me in the real world at this point...but just for fun I thought I'd have a think about what my Hive would buy me currently.

At the time of writing this my account value was about $54,500 US Dollars so I'll work on that for the purpose of continuity. That's slightly under $80,000 Australian dollars so let's just call it $80,000 Australian dollars. Now, what would that buy me today?

  • A house - Nope, the average house price in Australia is: $959,300.
  • A Dodge Ram pickup truck - Nope, a new Dodge Ram Laramie is $147,000.
  • Groceries - Yep, my annual grocery bill at the supermarket is $23,400 so I could buy groceries for 3.4 years.
  • A new Toyota Camry - Yep, I could get a mid-range Camry ($45,000...so I could get almost two).
  • Health insurance - Yep, I pay $2,700 annually so I could get 29 years worth.
  • All insurances - Yep, I pay $34,000 for insurance annually so I could get 2.3 years worth (Houses, vehicles, RV's, health, life and so on.)
  • Fuel - Yep, I pay $4,200 for fuel annually so that's 19 years of fuel.
  • Council rates - Yep, I pay $4,500 in council rates annually so I could get 17 years of council rates.
  • Large Big Mac Meal - I never eat them but at $13.95 each I could get 5,734 of them. 🤢
  • Bread - Yep, at an average of $5 each loaf I could get 16,000 loaves of white bread.
  • Cigarettes - I don't smoke, but if I did they'd cost $45 each pack so I could get 1,777 packets.
  • Pay TV - Yep, I pay $1,500 annually so I'd get 53 years worth.
  • Kit Kat chocolate bar - Yep, at $3 each I'd get 26,666 bars.

I think you get the idea anyway, there's probably no need to go into it any further. I'd not be able to buy all of those things combined of course, but it's interesting to turn $80,000 into tangible things to see what value it may have.

Australia is a costly place to live and $80,000 Australian dollars worth of Hive won't go far; the average income in Australia is about $92,000 (pre tax) annually (which sounds like a lot) but with the cost of living here it's not enough which is why so many are struggling with the inflation and shrinkflation that's currently happening.

Looking at my Hive amount ($80,000 Australian dollars) it'll not go very far in the real world considering it's subject to tax as well so the real number is nowhere near that, closer to half. I'm not keen to use it anyway though...I'd rather keep it and see if the price goes up again because even if it went to $1/Hive the fiat value would be about $395,700 Australian dollars...a figure that would make a bit of difference even after tax. So I hold.


I know there's people out there living day to day off the Hive they gather up and I get it to some degree but I can't help but wonder how those people would feel (holding no Hive at all in the future) when the price goes back up to $3. I'd be pretty annoyed if it was me but, of course, I gather Hive not spend it and I'd have (at current holdings) $813,000 USD ($1.19 million Australian dollars) were that $3 scenario to happen which makes it pretty easy for me to know what to do now.

Power Up a little each week

I guess this is one of the reasons I suggest to people that they should power up a percentage of what they earn here rather than taking and spending it all, say 25-35% of their earnings each week as a minimum because should the price increase they'd make some solid gains and that power up means more curation earnings and it compounds from there...I guess everyone does it differently though and some don't think too far into the future.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

Want a free Hive account? Click Here

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now